RSS

Do You Protect Your Dog?

18 Aug

A dog training video recently reminded me that my dog sees me as his pack leader. And as such, my job is to provide for him and protect him. I provide for him by feeding him, taking him for walks, getting him to the vet, etc. But — in his eyes — do I protect him?

A dog on a leash is at a disadvantage against an aggressive dog.

When small children run up to us wanting to pat him, so I just hang on to the end of the leash and let them rush him or do I ask them to stand still and let him approach them?

When stray dogs approach, do I put my dog at a disadvantage by keeping him on a tight leash or do I try to keep the dog away?

Do I keep my dog tethered on a leash at the dog park or do I take the leash off and let him move around freely?

When we’re on a walk, do I carry a spray bottle, stick, or other means of fending off dogs who threaten my dog?

Our dogs DO look to us for protection, and I think as modern dog owners, we forget that sometimes. I’m going to be more mindful of ways to protect my dog. Not to be an overprotective pet parent, and not to keep my dog from being a dog, but to provide protection when he needs it.

 
8 Comments

Posted by on August 18, 2012 in Dog Etiquette, Miscellany

 

8 responses to “Do You Protect Your Dog?

  1. Kimberly, The Fur Mom

    August 21, 2012 at 9:43 am

    One way we protect our dogs is by taking care of where we go. We try not to take them to stressful places, we stick to dog friendly areas, and we like to just keep to ourselves. Our dogs love playing with other dogs, but we find that it’s safer if they have a group of familiar dogs that we can arrange play dates with – speaking of which, I need to call to see if Zues can come over.

     
  2. Dane Guy

    September 2, 2012 at 2:22 pm

    Kimberly is completely right, but at the end of the day i would never let anyone or anything hurt my guys. Never!!!

     
  3. Lizzie Masako

    September 9, 2012 at 7:16 pm

    I protect my dogs by not taking them to places I should avoid. For example, there is a park near my house, where one certain person will let his 2 dogs off their leashes and run freely. They are both large dogs. My dog is a pit bull, that I always keep leashed. I already know that if his dogs run up to mine, even just to give a friendly sniff, my dog will get aggressive with them. I don’t want to see my dog or his dogs get hurt, so I just look for his car before we venture over to the park.
    Thanks for the post, Lizzie Masako

     
  4. Tina

    September 19, 2012 at 3:06 am

    I agree that one way we protect our dog is by taking care of them.

     
  5. Andre

    September 21, 2012 at 4:02 am

    We need a happy and balance dog. We need to understand why the dogs become aggressive..

     
  6. Bob Morris

    January 2, 2013 at 11:12 pm

    A trainer in NY Times today recommends a much looser leash to ease up on the tension my dog feels around other dogs.

     
  7. K9 Instinct Blog

    January 7, 2013 at 12:31 pm

    We should protect our dogs by respecting their space, knowing their limits, and understanding them as individuals. Dogs that are children shy are a great example of this. Owners should prevent kids from running at the dog, and kindly decline any requests to pet the dog. Instead, the dog owner should expose the dog to children playing at a safe distance, to help teach the dog that those children will never hurt him.

     
  8. Cash Warren

    January 9, 2013 at 5:44 pm

    Lizzie I am on the same boat as you! I have an Akita mixed with lab. I always keep him leashed and it bothers me when other owners don’t keep their dogs leashed when not in a dog park. Other peoples dogs are friendly, but like you said if they come up to my pooch I don’t think he would be happy. He is old and does not want to be bothered! Good post got me thinking and how we all need to pay attention to what may bother them like the kid thing.

     

Leave a comment