RSS

The Best Fresh Dog Food

13 Dec
The Best Soft Dog Food

Freshpet has ingredients you recognize. And it smells good, too.

Would you feed your dog food that has road kill in it? We do. We all do. Most commercial dog foods have stuff in them that isn’t fit for a … well, a dog. If we had the time, we’d all get the freshest human-grade ingredients, like high-protein meats and eggs, vitamin-rich vegetables, and whole grains. We’d cook delicious meals, then chill them right away to lock in freshness. Freshpet did just that.

The only preservative they use is your refrigerator. I tested a sample of their Freshpet Select soft cooked meals. The meals come packaged like sausage, ready to slice and serve. I gave it to my geriatric Labrador, whose sensitive stomach can sometimes produce gas that would peel paint. But she never got gas or soft stools with this food. I mixed it in with her regular food (Diamond Lamb & Rice) for a few meals, then gave her the Freshpet alone. She loved the taste and the smell. And with a little hot water, it becomes a warm, comforting meal that puts a spring in an old dog’s step. But it’s not just for older canines. Freshpet is for ANY dog who loves fresh food (and who doesn’t?). They even have puppy formulas. The company says their foods have “simple foods you’ll recognize,” and it’s true. It even smelled good. I’ve never been able to say that about a commercial canned dog food. I didn’t have the quantity of product to keep her on it for long enough to say whether the food had any impact on her energy, health or coat, but she sure did like it.

Fresh Sweet Potato Treats for Dogs

Ingredients: Sweet potatoes. Period.

I also tried their Dog Joy sweet potato treats. The package said, “Ingredients: Sweet potatoes.” Don’tcha just love that? My dogs sure did. Both of them snapped up the dried sweet potatoes like they were covered in gravy. There are about eight treats in the bag. Suitable for medium and large-size dogs (break into pieces for small dogs).

I wish I could carry this food in our store, but we’re not set up to ship refrigerated goods. However, I was so impressed with the food and treats that I’m going to keep my dog on Freshpet Select.  Run – do not walk – to their site and take a look at their other food and treats (for cats, too) and find a store near you.

NOTE: This is not a paid endorsement for this product. The reviewer was supplied with test product but was not compensated in any other way for reviewing the product. The review represents the true and actual experience the reviewer had using the product.

 
11 Comments

Posted by on December 13, 2011 in Dog Product Reviews

 

Tags:

11 responses to “The Best Fresh Dog Food

  1. Irene V.

    December 13, 2011 at 6:12 pm

    Wow!! Road Kill, really! I definitely do not want to feed my sweet little girl anything like that. I can’t wait to try the sweet potato treats and yes, I do love it that the only ingredient in the sweet potato treats is just that, the sweet potato. I can’t wait to stock up on the Freshpet food products for dogs. Thank you so much for this insightful information! Am looking forward to sharing with my family and friends!

     
  2. Terry Woods

    December 13, 2011 at 10:14 pm

    Very good article and I use this dog food myself and we love it and my dogs love it.

     
    • Irene V.

      December 13, 2011 at 10:19 pm

      Isn’t it the best!!

       
  3. Terry Woods

    December 13, 2011 at 10:18 pm

    Love it!

     
  4. Copper's Corner

    December 19, 2011 at 12:58 pm

    I’ll have to try that for my boy. He is already choosey about what he eats and he isn’t 2 yet.

     
  5. Sandra

    December 29, 2011 at 5:35 am

    Can’t wait to try these products for my chihuahua.

     
  6. fresh pet food

    February 4, 2012 at 11:51 am

    Like your post

     
  7. annadamaris

    March 21, 2012 at 7:47 am

    Dog JOY sweet potato treats are really tasty. I felt like eating them myself.

     
  8. HorseRider

    April 2, 2012 at 2:29 pm

    If your dog is into fresh dog food, like my dog is, OC Raw Dog is an awesome fresh, all human grade ingredients, frozen, raw dog food. My dog loves it and I know he is eating only the best ingredients in an all inclusive food!!

     
  9. Andrew

    September 12, 2012 at 5:29 pm

    Maybe I missed this part, but are these treats edible for humans? They sound delicious! I’ve recently made the switch to organic pet food and my girls love it. They seem to have more energy (even though they’re chihuahuas) and weird enough, they seem to be in a better mood than usual. Whatever works, I’m in!

     
  10. FunStuffForDogs

    September 18, 2012 at 5:46 pm

    Yes, raw is always the most natural diet for dogs. I agree, HorseRider!

     

Leave a comment