RSS

Take Your Dog for a Walk

02 Oct

If your dog is getting antsy, anxious or destructive, there’s one thing that can help more than any toy, training device, music CD or drugs: go for a walk. A 30-minute walk every day cures most dogs of most vices within a few weeks. Dogs are meant to roam. A house or a yard are confining to them. Letting a dog out in the yard does nothing to cure his “cabin fever.” You know how you feel when you’ve been in the house with the flu for three days? You need to get out. You need fresh air, sunshine, a change of scene, somewhere to go. So does your dog. So if you see him/her becoming restless, barking more, getting into things he/she shouldn’t, chewing up you bedspread, digging and being more aggressive toward others, start walking. You’ll be surprised what it does to not only burn off excess energy, but strengthen your relationship with the dog.

A walk will also focus your high-energy dog before attempting any task such as training, putting medication on, traveling in a car, etc.

 
50 Comments

Posted by on October 2, 2008 in Miscellany

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

50 responses to “Take Your Dog for a Walk

  1. Jeff - Pet Drugs

    February 12, 2009 at 8:19 pm

    I read this article couple months ago but didn’t leave a comment at that time. I was having hart time with my newly adopted Lab. He was a little over a year when I got him but you know how labs are. They just don’t grow up but I think it was lack of walking too. Its been almost a month and half since I start taking him out when I go for jogging. He loves it and and now he’s not all that crazy when I come back home. I hope I can come home early so that I can take him on evening was as well 😦
    I do appreciate the article. Thank you.

     
  2. Tommy

    February 23, 2009 at 2:17 pm

    A good walk is always great for a dog and even greater for a dog owner. 🙂 cheers

     
  3. Dog Bedding Info

    February 25, 2009 at 10:16 pm

    It’s easy to skip out on walks during the winter. I know I’m not too keen about walking in freezing cold weather. But when there are decent days, do both you and your pooch a favor and take a stroll!

     
  4. Black Labradors

    March 22, 2009 at 10:15 pm

    We have two Jack Russell and life is GOOD after giving the dogs a walk. They get a little CrAzY when we don’t let them blow some energy.

     
    • beautifulbutterfly3

      June 28, 2011 at 9:51 pm

      I have a JRT 1.5 years old male. He loves to run around. I’ve been taking him to cageless doggy day care while I’m at work. However, I can’t afford it anymore. Will taking him to the dog park for an hour in the morning and 30 minutes at night be sufficient+

       
  5. Types Of Dogs

    March 23, 2009 at 9:33 am

    We know how much our dogs love walks! The word ‘Walkies’ is outlawed due to the commotion caused at the very mention of the word. We have to pronounce it letter by letter or use a substitute word.

    Walking them is great for them AND keeps us fit!

     
  6. dog nail grinder

    March 24, 2009 at 6:01 pm

    Walking the dog is one of the best parts of the day. It’s a nice stress reliever for the owner and great energy release for the dog. Smaller dogs need to walk to. Sometimes running around in the backyard isn’t enough for smaller dogs.

     
  7. dog bedding

    April 1, 2009 at 10:42 pm

    I have noticed some good behavioral changes in my dogs since getting them on a routine of walking. It is still hard to take them everyday, but they love it. I was one of those that believed the backyard was enough, but it clearly isn’t.

     
  8. Doggone Boutique

    April 6, 2009 at 7:41 pm

    I have had my lab/hound mix since she was 8 weeks old. I learned the benefits of a long walk (and daycare on days I have to work late) very early on. She is a much calmer dog when she gets regular exercise. She has never been much of a chewer, but if she doesn’t get a walk for a couple of days she just bounces around (literaly – she bounces on the couches, the bed, runs up and down the stairs like a crazy dog). I can see that she is much happier and relaxed when she gets her daily walk. It’s not fair for them to be cooped up in a house for days at a time…I know I would go nuts. 🙂

     
  9. Daniel

    May 13, 2009 at 9:50 pm

    So true. Walking your dog in the morning and at night assures that he will sleep nicely and will not wake you up early in the morning. Sometimes walk is not enough, maybe some running at the park can also help or rollerblading. It is also good for us humans so it’s a win-win situation! 🙂

     
  10. Diana

    July 21, 2009 at 4:19 pm

    My dog likes to be carried on walks. Any suggestions on how I can get him to walk instead?

     
  11. Mark

    August 4, 2009 at 11:03 am

    Isn’t that what Cesar Milan says too? I wish I could take my Chihuahua running with me, but I am afraid he would fall down because his legs are so short 🙂

     
  12. Any Dog Breed

    August 5, 2009 at 12:09 am

    I wish walking was easier, my dog always tries to yank my arm off when I walk him.

     
  13. German Rottweiler breeders

    August 18, 2009 at 2:31 pm

    Taking time out everyday to walk your dog is essential for the well being of both owner and pet, and it’s simply great! 😛

    Alex,
    Vom Bullenfeld German Rottweilers

     
  14. john

    August 30, 2009 at 11:39 pm

    Yes, taking your dog out for walk is a natural way to heal the dog of boredom and anxiety inherent in dogs. I know this from personal experience with my dog. Dog loves it and get refreshed and each time.
    Thank you for the artilcle

     
  15. mr ong

    September 28, 2009 at 6:55 am

    Yes, good idea. and thank’s your information. and there are natural way to make healthy dogs and their owners. thank’s

     
  16. Small Dog Training

    October 9, 2009 at 3:53 am

    Generally dog parks, while they’re great for socializing, and potentially physical exhaustion, serve to actually create more stress in our dogs. Your dog(s) will get a lot more out of 20 minutes of tug/fetchtug/pushing than they will out of 1 hour at the dog park, in terms of stress relief and EMOTIONAL exhaustion.

     
  17. Anavi

    October 14, 2009 at 6:43 pm

    Certain breeds like the Jack Russel Terrier do need some vigorous exercise, since they are hyper-active by nature. Nevertheless, all dogs, specially the large breeds should be walked regularly.

     
  18. Brandon

    February 4, 2010 at 12:44 pm

    I have a 2 year old pit bull mix. Bubba demands a lot of exercise and one mile walks still left him feeling frisky. I tried walking him alongside my bike, needless to say it was a nightmare haha.

     
  19. Orthopedic-dogbed

    March 5, 2010 at 8:25 am

    I live on a farm and don’t really have to walk my dogs as they get to run free out there. But it is nice to go and run around with them, it gets me some exercise too.

     
  20. peter

    March 18, 2010 at 1:08 pm

    What if my dog can’t do a long walk, what can i do?

     
  21. Jennifer

    March 25, 2010 at 1:43 pm

    Walking your dog is great for bonding. I learned the hard way about putting in the time to train my dog how to walk “correctly” on a leash. The earlier you start, the better 🙂 I’m an avid Dog Whisperer fan and try to incorporate as much of his advice as possible- Exercise, Discipline, then Affection.

     
  22. Anderson

    April 3, 2010 at 7:41 pm

    Who has been the kindest to you in your life?

     
  23. peter

    April 19, 2010 at 7:32 am

    I love to walk my dogs. It makes them smarter.

     
  24. beckkkiiii sexy deegan

    July 9, 2010 at 8:50 am

    welll i am an owner i own a springer spaniel and he is gawgus i l;ove him to bits he has 3 walks a day and is very well looked afta and well trained xx 🙂 🙂 🙂 hes my little munch kin xxxx

     
  25. Maggie

    July 30, 2010 at 11:31 am

    Our 6 year old Weimaraner loves going on walks, usually 1 to 2 miles a day. Her favorite thing is being let loose on the middle school’s soccer field (when school is out of session of course) and running like a race horse. Exercise is really important for controling their weight, endurance and most of all, temperment.
    After her walk she looks forward to going home, getting her blue dog bakery treat, going on her couch, getting tucked into her blanket, and falling asleep!

     
  26. KozyDogs

    September 8, 2010 at 3:34 pm

    Very good info, I am going to start walking my dog much more often, it makes good sense! Thank You!

     
  27. Shalisha

    September 13, 2010 at 8:52 pm

    Thank you for this excellent post. I have a Jack Russell Terrier. He goes nuts if he’s in the house longer than 3-4 hours. He’s an energetic breed by nature. A walk around the block just won’t do it for him. I have to take him to the dog run for a minimum of 30 minutes twice a day or he literally starts tearing into things, chewing, digging and all sorts of naughty stuff! Right now he has pneumonia and is confined to the house. He’s going nuts – that’s how I can tell he’s getting better – he’s getting into all sorts of trouble. Again, thanks for the great article.

    Shalisha

    Train Your Dog to Come

     
  28. Pat

    October 30, 2010 at 5:28 pm

    I just recently started walking my dog. I had fed her too many treats and she was getting really overweight. I didn’t realize what I was doing to her until she started having breathing problems, panting almost all of the time. My vet put her on a reduced calorie dog food, and suggested the walking routine.
    In the past two months she has lost 20 lbs, however the BEST result from the walking is the great BOND we share as a result of walking almost everyday!! The fresh air is not hard to take either!!

     
  29. HuskiesforSale.org

    January 26, 2011 at 6:01 am

    Yes yes, absolutely… as they say, a tired dog is a good dog! Especially when you’re owning Sibes, they certainly keep you young and fit.

     
  30. GW

    March 7, 2011 at 7:40 pm

    Make sure your dog(s) are dressed properly for the weather conditions. Proper dog clothing or dog outfits will either keep them cozy warm or very cool. They will enjoy it.

     
  31. doggy day care in Mission Viejo.

    May 7, 2011 at 12:35 am

    I love this, want one in my garden. Will you be auctioning it off for charity?

     
  32. Ria

    May 10, 2011 at 4:14 pm

    Yeah, nice dress for dogs, love it…

     
  33. Lilly and Abbie Dog Beds

    May 14, 2011 at 2:58 pm

    My two labs love walks. Like another poster said, can’t even use the words Car, Ride, Walk or they’ll be relentless with tail wagging and staring you down. They even know the times of day. If you have a dog, you have to take them for a LONG walk (or a few short ones) at least ONCE a day.

     
  34. Pitbull Puppies

    May 30, 2011 at 7:10 pm

    I have found this to be very true. Nothing better to stop a barking dog then to take him on a walk.

     
  35. Geraldine

    June 28, 2011 at 9:07 pm

    Walking is my usual exercise every morning, being with my dog walking along the bay I spent more time in wlaking without getting boredom.

     
  36. Fretzie

    June 30, 2011 at 6:11 pm

    Love this post want to go out with my dog in me.

     
  37. Pet Medicine

    July 13, 2011 at 11:57 am

    I have a terrier, so walks are important to maintain sanity! :o)

     
  38. d

    July 20, 2011 at 10:04 am

    My Golden Retrievers love long early morning walks!~

     
  39. Pinky

    July 21, 2011 at 6:49 pm

    I agree that taking care of dog is not that easy it is also compare to taking care of a human baby and you will love it much while doing the hands on 🙂

     
  40. cat tree

    July 28, 2011 at 4:15 pm

    To be honest I really don’t like dog but i enjoyed reading your post!

     
  41. Jane Cooper

    September 20, 2011 at 4:19 am

    Thank you for the lovely post!! I do agree that dog walking is very useful for the well being of a dog physically as well as psychologically. I have heard vets recommend that a daily walk for a dog helps to satisfy its migratory instinct, as well as help the dog see its owner as its leader.

     
  42. Junie

    September 21, 2011 at 12:45 am

    Dogs that are walked regulary are more well-balanced mentally and physically. They response better to their owners/handlers too.

     
  43. dogfoodcontainerstorage

    September 21, 2011 at 10:14 pm

    You should take dog outside the home. There healthy will be strong and there habit so develop. They will also clever and mischievous for you to be your friend.

    Don’t forget to play with them look like your family. lol

     
  44. pet supplies

    September 21, 2011 at 10:20 pm

    Nice info, I am going to start walking my dog much more often, Thank You!

     
  45. PetnVet Finder (@petnvetfinder)

    October 3, 2011 at 4:26 am

    Very true!! Walking a dog brings upon a lot of change in its behavior! Through regular walking, many behavior issues can begin to be resolved — after a long walk, your dog is in a calm state of mind and is more receptive to training and behavior corrections.

     
  46. joann123

    October 17, 2011 at 3:20 pm

    Indeed. They’ll also be use to see people. Know them.

     
  47. pitbull puppies

    November 1, 2011 at 9:42 am

    I agree, regular dog walks can slowly beginto resolve behavior issues, taking your dogs on long walks will have the dog in a calm state of mind.

     
  48. Heather

    November 11, 2011 at 9:53 am

    I completely agree! I have a 3 yr old lab with tons of energy. For 2 years now I have been building him up to go on runs with me and now it is our favorite time together. He can do up to 10 miles and loves every single minute of it. I can tell when he starts to get anxious and is desperate for some energy release. Walking and running is a fantastic training tool!

     

Leave a Reply

 
