RSS

Americans’ Attitudes Toward Dogs

30 Mar

We’re taking a survey of dog owners to find out more about how Americans feel about their pets.  Early results are fascinating.  Did you know that nearly half of us would give up 10% of our pay if we could take our dogs to work with us? And nearly one in five would be more upset at the death of our dog than the death of a spouse.

Haven’t taken the survey yet? It only takes 90 seconds. Go to http://app.intellicontact.com/icp/sub/survey/take.  Meanwhile, here are some early results (678 responses):

Social statements (check all that apply):

I like most dogs better than I like most people 68.69%
My dog makes me more sociable than I would be without a dog 54.36%
If my dog did not like someone I was dating, I would stop seeing that person 57.46%
People who have dogs (or wish to) are generally better, nicer people than those who do not have/want to have dogs 69.72%
If dogs were allowed in more places, I would take my dog with me everywhere 84.64%
Most of my friends have dogs 59.82%
Having a dog is preferable to having a child 45.49%
My dog helps me get over breakups and disappointments in relationships 51.70%
I would be more upset at the death of my dog than the death of my boyfriend/girlfriend or spouse 18.46%
If I had to choose between never having another boyfriend/girlfriend and never having another dog, I would choose never having another boyfriend/girlfriend 39.00%

Consumer Behavior (check all that apply)

I would give up 10% of my salary if I could take my dog to work. 44.91%
I take into consideration my dog’s needs when I purchase a home or rent an apartment 90.57%
I take into consideration my dog’s needs when I purchase a vehicle 73.20%
I have delayed purchases for myself so that I could purchase something for my dog 47.75%
I have attended a dog birthday party or puppy shower (or other party) 42.96%
I spend more on non-food and non-medical purchases fo rmy dog than I did five years ago 71.11%

My Age Group

Under 18 5.16%
19-30 19.03%
31-45 38.05%
46-60 32.60%
over 60 5.16%

A Bit About Me (check all that apply)

I am married 52.06%
I am not married 46.46%
I am male 4.57%
I am female 74.93%
 
2 Comments

Posted by on March 30, 2007 in Miscellany

 

2 responses to “Americans’ Attitudes Toward Dogs

  1. caring for your dog

    September 21, 2007 at 2:19 am

    i wish in singapore they would treat dog better as they do in america

     
  2. German Rottweiler breeders

    August 18, 2009 at 4:28 pm

    That’s awesome, I’m glad to see those percentages. 🙂

    Alex,
    Vom Bullenfeld German Rottweilers

     

Leave a Reply

 
