RSS

What would you do for your dog?

12 Mar

Here’s a story from AP that was recently published in newspapers around the country:

OMAHA, Neb. — Lucy was drowning and turning blue, so Randy Gurchin recalled his Air Force training on mouth-to-mouth resuscitation. It didn’t matter that Lucy is a 10-month-old English bulldog, because he and Lucy are “best buddies.”

“Once you get a pet, it’s truly part of your family,” he said. “You just tend to do whatever it takes to save their life.”

Lucy had jumped into a partly frozen lake in pursuit of ducks and geese, but the water was too cold for her. When Gurchin edged onto the ice and pulled Lucy out of the water, she was unresponsive and her face and paws were blue.

He closed her mouth, put his mouth over her nose, breathed air into her lungs and pushed on her chest, and after about a minute she began shallow breaths. He drove her to a veterinary clinic, where she was immersed in warm water, given injections and placed in an oxygen tent. By Friday, a week after her ordeal, Lucy was back to normal, said Gurchin, a pilot who retired from the Air Force two years ago.

It’s amazing what we dog parents will do for our beloved friends.  I’m sure that most of the dog people I know would not hesitate to give their dogs mouth-to-mouth resuscitation in a life-or-death situation.

Society in general is catching on that dogs are part of the family nowadays. They don’t just live in the back yard like they used to (although sadly, some still do). They sleep in our beds, go with us on errands and sometimes to work, they go on vacation with us and sometimes and they help us get over bad relationships.

We think it’s time that people knew just how much our dogs mean to us. So we’ve created a survey of American dog owners. Please take 90 seconds to answer some simple questions. When we’ve collected a statistically significant number of responses, we’ll amalgamate the data into a press release, and send it to every daily paper and weekly paper in the country.

The results so far have been very telling. It seems that half of us would give up 10% of our salary if we could take our dogs to work with us. 70% of us think that people who own dogs (or want to) are generally better people than those who don’t. And nine out of ten of us select a home based in large part on our dogs’ needs.

If you have a dog, please take this important survey. We think the writers and editors who see the results will be impressed at how much our dogs impact our everyday life. Just follow this link:

http://app.intellicontact.com/icp/sub/survey/start?sid=7857&cid=44833

 
4 Comments

Posted by on March 12, 2007 in In the News

 

4 responses to “What would you do for your dog?

  1. Hope

    July 8, 2007 at 5:03 pm

    I love my dog Max hes half bulldog half boston terrerier.Im only 11 .after i had tragically lost all of my dogs in a accident envolving the wild pigs that live on our farm. We had not seen any of the dogs in weeks and i had lost hope.i was beginning to bealive you can never get close to a dog cause sooner or later they”ll end up dead.When i was at my grandmothers my uncle Sam gave me the best preasent in the world, Max.Ive never been closer to a dog in my life.The way everytime i walk out on the porch he looks up at me with those big brown eyes just makes my heart melt.Yester -day was his b-day. he turned 3 years old.I love him with all my heart.

     
  2. mr ong

    September 28, 2009 at 7:01 am

    Thank’s…. that is god article. I will come back again to your article

     
  3. Anne Heyes

    December 6, 2009 at 4:20 pm

    I will and have done whatever it takes to care for my dogs. They have both shown more loyalty and love than any other 2-legged creature I have known. I lost my oldest boy in April (he was a Lab crossed with a very tall Dad) – he was diabetic and blind for 5 years. I am terrified of needles but I learned how to give him his insulin twice a day without causing him any pain. I gave up many hours of work to care for him and took him to the best Vets and alternative medical people. He had a fabulous life and I have many very fond memories and miss him terribly. On the day he died, my roommate got down onto the floor and gave him mouth to mouth – Unfortunately it was too late…it was a heart attack. He was 14 yrs., 2 months and 10 days. I still have his sister and she is a wild dog (coyote maybe) cross…rescued from a very brutal place. I tuck her in every night on my bed with her fluffed pillow and I put a comfy blanket on her…I kiss her every morning – even her feet

     

Leave a Reply

 
