RSS

Orka Jack – Attention Enthusiastic Chewers!

15 Mar

I have a 1 year old schnauzer mix named Harley. No one is exactly sure what he is mixed with. Guesses have ranged from Deer Hound to German Wire Haired Pointer, none the less he is a spunky, energetic pooch who brings hours of joy to my home.

Along with joy comes destruction, Harley has become quite the "enthusiastic" chewer in the last few months and has shredded up slippers, carpet, quilts, socks etc.

I have spent quite a bit on toys only to bring them home and have them totally annihilated within 10 minutes. I realized after 3 stuffed sheep, 2 stuffed bones and a fabulous striped stuffed dog had been brutally decapitated and mutilated that Harley was in need of a stronger toy. Tennis balls don't last 5 minutes, nor do toys made from real fire hoses. Harley also has issues with rope bones; not only does he untie the knots, but he unravels them and then spreads the strings all over the floor.

Through all the destruction and wasted money, I did finally find one toy that has lasted Harley over 6 months, the Petstages Orka Jack, even though Harley pulled out and shredded up the rope inside it, the jack itself still remains in tact. He has chewed, gnawed and scrapped his back teeth all over it and it has stood up to a lot of punishment. He seems to love how it feels when he chews it and loves to chase after it as it bounces randomly around the room due to its unique shape. This one has definitely lasted the longest out of all toys, I have accepted now that just because I like the cute fuzzy stuffed toys doesn't mean that Harley is capable of playing with them, so now he only gets very hard, durable rubber toys and real bones to play with but his Orka is his favorite!

– Susan Raymond, Houston TX

 
12 Comments

Posted by on March 15, 2006 in Dog Product Reviews

 

12 responses to “Orka Jack – Attention Enthusiastic Chewers!

  1. funstufffordogs

    March 15, 2006 at 2:51 pm

    We’ve heard from several customers that the Orka Jack and Orka Gripper do withstand some heavy chewing. I’ll have to try them on my six-year-old Lab. They sound pretty tough. – Lisa Woody

     
  2. Gina

    April 7, 2006 at 9:43 pm

    This toy is good and like Harley, my dog Nelson did the same thing the rope thing is totally gone. But filling the other holes with treats highlights his days/nites. The only thing is, I have to be careful that he does not get too excited and toss the thing into the air, it is not the lightest toy but a great find.

     
  3. melanie

    May 6, 2006 at 6:21 am

    my bulldogs, winifred and magnolia, were able to tear apart the Orka toys in an evening. I am on a constant search for products to withstand their vigorous jaws. The however, did not make the cut!

    M

     
  4. Heather Lopez

    September 6, 2006 at 1:11 pm

    Well, I have to say, I am VERYdispleased with the Orka Jack. In less than 45 min. my 5 mo. old lab severed off one of the arms and shredded the rope! She is very well behaved and never chews any of our stuff but she is a very strong chewer and I supply her with “tuff” toys to chew so I thought this product would be perfect for her strength. NOT!!!!! Any suggestions of what she wont chew through in less than an hr???????

    NOTE FROM MODERATOR: Try the Treatstik. It’s the one and only toy that my Lab has been unable to destroy. – LW

     
  5. Brandi

    January 29, 2007 at 4:14 pm

    We bought our 4 month old lab mix one of the Orka Jack toys and it wasn’t 5 minutes before he had one end of it chewed off. I kept the receipt and will be returning it to the store. This could be dangerous, if owners do not watch their dog’s while they are using this toy.

     
  6. Brandi

    January 29, 2007 at 4:16 pm

    Reply to Heather.

    We got our dog a KONG and she loves it and can not tear this toy up.

    Brandi

     
  7. Chaz

    January 31, 2007 at 2:17 pm

    We have the same issue as number 4. Our 8 month old lab is wonderfully behaved, but loves to chew his toys. I don’t know what to get him. Everything is ruined in an hour and he’s so lost without his chew toys. What do I get?

     
  8. naydene christie

    February 1, 2007 at 12:19 am

    My 9 year old cross (poodle crossed with maybe a lab) who I got from the pound 18 months ago is a very strong chewer, and his idea of fun is only a toy that holds food. He has sent me practically broke with all the toys I’ve tried, driven the people at the pet shop mad trying to help! He destroys Kong balls, even the black ones, within the hour. He’s finished off 4 Orkas, but I find they last a bit longer, cos I can cut off the ‘sealed’ ends and stuff with a treat, so end up with several evenings’ entertainment for him. I have just discovered the perfect toy for him, it’s called the Everlasting Fun Ball, a light bright green large ball (also do a smaller tennis ball sized one) with a hole either end, but the material, while it ‘gives’ and is soft, is impossible for him to get his teeth through. It must be a comibination of the shape and the wonderful chewy material which has not been punctured! I urge anyone who has a strong chewer to try it, I still cannot believe it’s given him so much pleasure, he even takes it to bed and is still trying to get the treats out hours later. I got him the Everlasting Treat Balls and they were good, but he managed to chew off the surrounding ‘lip’ which made getting to the treat easier.

     
  9. Andrew

    April 4, 2007 at 9:51 am

    I have an Akita, and we had the same problem. Spent a ton of money of toys he destroys in about 3 minutes. But There’s a toy called “Cuz” which is a rubber ball with legs essentially. It squeaks when sqeezed. Bought it 3 months ago and it’s still squeaking. And he hasnt broken the rubber either. I suggest getting “good cuz” because those dont come with little devil ears like “bad cuz” does. Anyway, good luck.

     
  10. sandi eisner

    September 11, 2007 at 11:20 am

    I purchased an Orka chew toy and put peanut butter in the ends. Within ten minutes, my 3 year old golden retriever had the ends chewed of and swallowed a few of the pieces. I will be returning this toy to Petsmart and emailed the manufacturer, Petstages, as this is a potential health hazard for the dog!

     
  11. Loretta McCarthy

    August 20, 2008 at 8:18 pm

    I bought an Orka Jack chew toy for my medium sized six months labradoodle at Kmart and it was destroyed within half an hour of giving to the dog. I tried to return it this morning but no guarantees come with the product.
    I’m really angry that $10 has gone down the drain within half an hour. it’s not as though my dog has super strong teeth or jaws!

     
  12. German Rottweiler breeders

    August 18, 2009 at 6:08 pm

    I want to try it out with one of our Rottweilers.

    Alex,
    Vom Bullenfeld German Rottweilers

     

Leave a Reply

 
