RSS

Pill Pockets

14 Mar

Pill Pockets, from S&M Nutec, are made with real beef and are a nutritious supplement to a dog's regular diet. You put a pill in the opening, then press the ends together. They make medicating your dog much easier and more pleasant for the dog.

Our testers were Luna Bell (1year old), Lady (2 years old) and Ike (2.5 years old), all Jack Russe Terriers from Slidell, LA.

They love them. Each Pill Pocket is soft and molds around the pill, so it won’t fall out. The dogs have never spit another pill out. Pill Pockets come in 3 sizes. It is the easiest , quickest, and cleanest way to get pills in your dog, and the manufacturer says that unlike using table scraps, Pill Pockets do not promote begging.

Luna has allergies and takes Benadryl Daily. She has a Pill Pocket first thing every morning  when we get up. Even during Hurricane Katrina we packed her pill pockets and she didn’t miss a dose. Ike usually can’t be fooled by much, but he even falls for the pill pockets. He doesn’t need medicine every day, but cries to have his pill pocket treat when Luna gets hers. I just give him an empty one.  They come in a bag that can be resealed and one bag has about a month's worth of treats for us. I sometimes get the large size and break them into pieces to make them last longer. They cost about six dollars a bag, depending where you get them.  

I  felt it was so cruel to shove pills down my dogs throat , only to have them spit it out soon after. It was upsetting to my dogs and stressed me out.
It also is quicker and much cleaner than using a fattening treat to bury it in. Lady has weight issues and should not eat extra  fattening human  treats. No mess—NO stress. My dogs love it and cry for it as a treat. They still have not caught on that it has a pill in it. Thank God for Pill Pockets!

– Kelly Stein

 
5 Comments

Posted by on March 14, 2006 in Dog Product Reviews

 

5 responses to “Pill Pockets

  1. Laurie

    March 20, 2006 at 4:55 am

    Awesome idea! I have to try them. My boyz can detect a pill hidden in food a mile away. I have one with liver shunt who needs a daily pill, and it’s a daily battle.

    Laurie
    * scurries off to Google for Pill Pockets …*

    http://www.barkandsparkle.com

     
  2. Rachel

    July 13, 2006 at 8:49 am

    I was able to fit 3 pills in the large pill pocket and my dog never knew that it was more than just a treat! He loves them. He coes running when he hears the bag open. I only have one problem with this product, it is in a bag. The pockets at the bottom were all mushed together. If they could redesign the packaging so that would not happen I would be a lot happier, but I am not going to stop buying this product because of it.

     
  3. Sharlan

    March 20, 2007 at 10:35 am

    In the past, every time my vet prescribed pills for my shih tzu my first thought would be “Oh no, here we go again”. I would have to push the pill down his throat at least two or three times before I could get him to swallow it. Shih tzus have wide soft pallates which make it difficult to impossible to get a pill down. I would feel as though he was being punished and dreaded the process.

    I tried disguising the pills in everything from liver chips to cheese and he still managed to eat the “treat” and spit out the pill.

    Recently he was diagnosed with high blood pressure which requires a daily pill. I had the vet make it up in liquid form (at a cost of $110/month).

    Then I discovered pill pockets. When he hears me open the bag he is right there waiting for it. I got the small pockets and break a piece off & wrap his pill in it so a bag lasts for months.

    Now instead of dreading giving him his medication we both look forward to it.

     
  4. German Rottweiler breeders

    August 18, 2009 at 6:11 pm

    Looks like it would work.

    Alex,
    Vom Bullenfeld German Rottweilers

     

Leave a Reply

 
