RSS

Dogswell Happy Hips and Breathies Treats

14 Mar

Dogswell LLC manufactures Happy Hips with glucosamine and Breathies treats for, well, dog breath. Our tester was Sapoo, a 14-year-old Toy Poodle from Grass Valley, CA. Sapoo has been using these treats for 8 years.

She can't get enough of these treats, and she's extremely finicky. We're especially pleased because treats low in fat — for dogs with pancreitis — are hard to find.

These work as promised, and are fantastic, especially for dogs with pancreatitis – these are safe!

– Shawna Fritzler

 
37 Comments

Posted by on March 14, 2006 in Dog Product Reviews

 

37 responses to “Dogswell Happy Hips and Breathies Treats

  1. Julie

    August 10, 2006 at 2:00 pm

    How can your dog have eaten these treats for 8 years, when the company is less than 2 years old?

    NOTE FROM MODERATOR: Actually, S&M Nutec LLC, the manufacturer of Greenies, was founded in 1996. – L.W.

     
  2. carol

    September 3, 2007 at 10:15 am

    are happy hips chicken breast under a recall at this time?

     
  3. Joseph Siernos

    March 30, 2008 at 12:32 pm

    My 10 year old lab mix was given Happy Hips and got diarrea.
    Are “Happy Hips under recall” ?

     
  4. Barbara Wilson

    April 2, 2009 at 8:45 pm

    My dogs have diarrhea and another recently died of unknown cause. Diarrhea, weight loss, anemia, hypoalbuminemia. I am starting to worry that the Dogswell chicken breasts could be related. Is anyone aware of any problems with these? i know they are from China which concerns me.

     
    • Susan Sams

      March 21, 2012 at 8:36 pm

      My dog had what I now believe to be two bouts of salmonella poisoning which corresponds with when I gave him Happy Hips. I’m trying to figure out if I can get an empty bag tested.

       
  5. Margery Tonna

    May 8, 2009 at 9:25 am

    My dog is having the same reaction to the Dogswell Mellow Mut Chicken strips. We used to give them to him all the time, but the latest batch has been giving him diarrhea. Then two days ago, I gave him one. He started vomiting that night and hasn’t stopped. We had to take him to the emergency room and we have a massive urgent care vet bill. Has anyone contacted Dogswell?

     
  6. Henny

    May 14, 2009 at 9:43 pm

    My German Shepherd puppy loves the Dogswell Happy Hips Chicken Breast strips but he developed vomiting and diarrhea after eating a few from the last bag I purchased. I wasn’t sure if the Dogswell treats were responsible, so I waited until the diarrhea cleared up and tried again. Sure enough, the diarrhea came back, worse than before. I am concerned that there is a contaminant in the batch. As someone else mentioned, this product is made in China and there have been multiple recalls of other foodstuffs made there. I won’t be buying Dogswell products again.

     
  7. GMC

    May 15, 2009 at 9:47 pm

    I bought Dogswell vitality chicken treats with flaxseed awhile ago, but forgot I had them in the pantry and just started feeding them to my dog for the last 2 weeks, approximately one a day. She just happened to have an annual vet visit last Friday with a wellness blood panel. The vet called me on Monday to tell me one of my dog’s kidney values was elevated. Her urinalysis showed no signs of infection and she is concentrating urine ok as of now. I noticed some white particles in her urine when I did the catch. There is no other explanation for this – my dog is 4 years old. I didn’t realize the treats were MADE IN CHINA until I did my Internet searching and checked the bag. I highly suspect the treats, as nothing else changed. My vet is not disagreeing with me and other than a toxin causing this, has no other explanation for me.

    I am VERY UPSET and will no longer be buying this product. I urge others to warn everyone you know about the dangers of treats from china and get a complaint filed with the FDA. Save your treats and get your samples tested so the FDA can do something about it.

     
  8. Amy

    June 12, 2009 at 1:17 am

    I bought the Happy Hips treats for my cat last weekend. I fed them to him twice (Mon. night and Tues. night). We haven’t seen him since then – over 48 hours, which is very unusual for him. Now I’m worried that the Happy Hips treats caused sickness for him and he won’t be coming back.

     
  9. Catherine

    June 26, 2009 at 11:18 am

    I opened a bag of Vita Kitty treats and the contents were moldy!
    Lot number CH03TH0401/03

    I had purchased them through Amazon.com, they are sending shipping instructions and will replace the product. Per, Amazon.com there was a production run issue in China.

    Not sure I trust the Dogswell products at this time. They need to move production back to the US.

     
    • Matthew

      March 13, 2010 at 12:04 am

      I bought a pack from whole foods and fed one to my dog and then realized that it was moldy. Christine, was your dog okay??? Should I be worried?

       
      • ek

        April 30, 2010 at 5:30 pm

        I just bought a bag of Vita Kitty breathies and it was moldy also!

         
  10. FatLossFitnessInfox

    July 13, 2009 at 6:10 am

    Quite possibly one of the finest health and fitness websites i’ve ever come across has to be BodyToDieFor.com.com

    This amazing website teaches such things as;

    Get A Six Pack For Summer

    Speedy Fat Loss

    Feed The Muscle Burn Fat

    They have many more articles and guides, check them out today.

     
  11. PortlandDog

    July 17, 2009 at 12:54 pm

    We purchased a bag of Happy Hips Chicken and Apple today, started giving them to our dogs and realized they were MOLDY. We called the company and they said to take the dogs to the vet, but that they wouldn’t cover the bill. Ridiculous. AND they’re made in China. We bought these at a local, organic grocery store that prides itself on quality and local good. If they don’t take these off the shelf, I will publicize it in a letter to the local paper. Made in CHINA. This makes me so angry.

     
  12. ChristinePDX

    August 4, 2009 at 12:17 am

    I’ve been giving my 11-year-old lab mix Dogswell chicken breast treats with glucosamine/chondroitin for a year now, and she loves them. No problems until today, when she had diarrhea. I gave her treats from a newly opened bag of the chicken jerky yesterday. Coincidence? yes, it may be, but I’m going to throw them away anyway- it’s not worth risking her health. I guess I’ll be bribing her with bits of cheese and other human foods from now on- as long as they’re not made in China.

     
  13. Kathy

    September 2, 2009 at 2:39 am

    Isn’t it obvious YET??? Most things from CHINA are harmful and/or deadly to us??????
    Buy your pet’s food from the good ol’ USA!! I’ve seen this type of sadness related to most EVERYTHING that comes to us from CHINA….even down to construction materials…..for heaven’s sake people wake up….this has been going on for many years with many different products….and when there is dangerous reactions to us it usually is from a CHINESE IMPORT…!
    I noticed this trend as far back as 10 years ago with other products and it continues on today.

    Since Dogswell has been mentioned with respect to the dog Chanel who just passed away from old age…and her owner mentioned Dogswell…now everyone thinks this is a good product….well, the CEO of A company named Dogswell (and this could be a USA company) has a VERY Italian name… so I don’t think it’s a Chinese company…but there are lots of imitators out there with the same name…so be careful everyone….. please be careful!

     
  14. john

    May 4, 2010 at 4:03 pm

    Our 11 year old mix breed was given 3 of the happy hips strips over 2 day period late April 2010, the following day started vomiting, vet didn’t seem to think important, after several visits dog is now in the hospital getting IV antibiotics and nutritional fluids. Not sure if this is purely coincidence or not.

     
  15. Kate

    May 14, 2010 at 2:39 pm

    I bought a bag of the Happy Hips strips a week ago. Since the first day I gave them to my dog he was throwing up the strips and yellow liquid/foam, he didn’t get sick though, his appetite, energy remained normal. After 3 days of throwing up I stopped giving him the strips and he didn’t throw up since. I contacted the company Dogswell and told them about this I even offered to send the strips back to them, I thought that they might want to take a look at them. They assured me that they test every batch of their products for contaminants. They claim that every single result has come back negative and they guarantee the safety of their products. Unfortunately I didn’t think to look for info about the treats on internet until today. After reading info on this forum I don’t think I am going to give any of the chicken breast treats to my dog again. This seems to be too much of a coincidence that so many dogs would suddenly get upset stomach from the treats. Dogswell also makes biscuits and I believe that those are made in the USA. I used to buy the Vitality Chicken Treats for a long time and my dog got never sick from those. I really don’t know what to think about this all. What is going on?

     
  16. Elaine Shannon

    May 24, 2010 at 9:12 pm

    I had to have my lfifteen year old dog put down two weeks ago. She had diabetes, but it had been well controlled for two and a half years. I gave her a chicken jerky strip from Dogswell and never put tow and two together until this week. She started vomiting and got very ill. Very quickly. It made me so terribly sad to see her like this. She got iv antibiotics and was on an iv drip for two days. I brought her home and she deteriorated. I cannot say for certain that the Dogswell strips did this to her, but I believe it contribulted to her death and I am sick. I have a golden retriever and a long haired doxie. I continued to give them to them and yesterday the doxie threw up a yellowish bile and a part of the chicken stirp. I firmly believe these are bad and will never give them to my dogs again.. In addition I am writing to the company. I am sure they will assume no responsiblitly, but I will write nonetheless.

     
    • Kate

      May 26, 2010 at 10:56 am

      Dear Elaine, I am really sorry about your dog. I made the post #17. I bought the strips at Entirely Pets, so I sent e-mail to them too, to let them know about the strips. They replied and said that they are currently reviewing the product.
      Please make another post after you contact the Dogswell, I would like to know what they tell you.

       
  17. Barbara

    July 5, 2010 at 2:02 pm

    It’s probably the glucosamine that’s causing the problem. Vomiting and diarrhea are a common side effect of glucosamine. Be careful when giving that to your pet!

     
    • Kate

      July 11, 2010 at 9:09 pm

      That is exactly what the Dogswell company suggested when I contacted them, but I don’t think the glucosamine in the strips would do it. My dog has been on a glucosamine supplement since very young age and never threw up from it, why would he start to throw up from it now. There must be something else wrong with the strips.

       
  18. skippy

    September 28, 2010 at 9:55 am

    bought dogswell chicken strips at target last week and fed one to my 7 year old lab and he was throwing up ALL NIGHT. little pieces of chicken strips in the yellow bile. i will never buy this junk again.

     
  19. Joan

    October 18, 2010 at 6:31 am

    I bought the dogswell chicken strip “breathies” from a healthfood store. I thought they should be safe. I fed them to my 2 yorkies, only a half a strip each, never more than that half a day or every couple of days. My Rudy was up all night with his stomach making all kinds of noises and going out every 15-30 minutes with diarrhea & vomiting! Now Chewy is having diahrrea also! I definitely won’t get them again!

     
  20. Kenneth

    November 21, 2011 at 10:31 pm

    I have been using Happy Hips duck breast and chicken breast treats to train my adult, rescued bull terrier. She hasn’t had any problems, even though she consumes a lot of these treats.

    My local Safeway has had these treats on a 2-for-1 sale for the past 2 months: I wonder if the manufacturer is trying to clear their inventory. At that price, they’re cheaper than just about any treat on the market.

     
  21. Katarina Mlcochova

    November 22, 2011 at 11:20 pm

    Hi Tracy,
    I would be willing to share my story, but as you can see in the comments my experience with Dogswell was very short. After my dog threw up I have not used the treats again or anything else made by Dogswell or anything Made in China. If you think my story might help anyway, I am willing to participate.

     
  22. Nancy Smith, Chico, CA

    December 3, 2011 at 5:44 pm

    My 12 year old JR terrier mix started losing weight, appetite diminished, energy lowered, was wetting at night, and drinking lots of water. Her vet visit and kidney panel showed elevated BUN, creatinine and phosphorus. I started thinking about what she had been eating over the last several weeks and good ol’ Dogswell Chicken treats with chondroitin was the answer. This website and others confirmed that other pets were having problems with this product. After 5 days of no longer feeding the strips she has more energy, increased appetite and general well-being. I will never buy another product produced in China for my dogs or my family. It just isn’t worth the cheaper price when my loved ones are at stake.

    I will be letting every dog owner I know about this incident and your comments posted to this site. Let’s get the word out and hopefully stop this product from making our animals ill. Occupy Dogswell and take pity on those who feel that making money is more important than lives.

     
  23. Nancy Smith, Chico, CA

    December 3, 2011 at 6:29 pm

    I hope it is clear from my comment that the strips were a treat rather than her regular food which consists of rice, meat and veggies.

     
  24. Jill

    December 23, 2011 at 3:05 am

    I bought a new bag of Happy Hips Chicken strips last night at Petco and gave 1/2 treat to each of my bichons, and this morning one of them had diarrhea and tonight they both did. I am CONVINCED it is the dog treats. It is extremely rare that both dogs would have diarrhea at the same time and the only difference is the treats. They have been eating these treats for as long as I can remember, so it must be a bad batch.

     
  25. mary

    March 7, 2012 at 8:21 am

    Dogswell Mellow Mut strips are a disaster. I bought them at whole foods, labeled cage-free chicken, organic, etc. — who would have thought that the would make my dog so sick!!! I gave his just 1 on Friday as a treat, and diarrhea started the next day, continuing 4 days. Now he’s on to vomiting. This has been a completely healthy, 2-year old dog until now. We’re off to the vet. What is our recourse against Whole Foods/Dogswell for poisoning our dog?

     
  26. Lyn Plemmons

    April 11, 2012 at 2:02 pm

    My dog Pele, is dying after eating an entire bag of Happy Hips, she got into them when the plummer left the contents under the sink all over the kitchen floor, she got the bag without my knowing. Once I saw the empty bag I just thought well, they are organic, free range chicken with supplements in them, I never thought they would kill her!!!! I never thought to call the vet, she eats so many strange things….but now she is fighting for her life with her kidneys failing. I can never be sure of course, but when reading all of these posts it is hard for me not to think is was the happy hips that is killing my precious friend.

     
  27. Lisa Macdonald

    August 3, 2012 at 9:19 pm

    In the past year, I have purchased two packages of Dogswell chicken jerky treats, 1 Happy Hips and 1 Vitality, that reeked of insecticide. I have an idea that maybe the stores are spraying the store rooms with bug spray and that it is absorbed into the packaging. Both packages were purchased at the same store (Raley’s). I returned both packages. Couldn’t something like this be the cause of some pets becoming ill after eating the chicken treats and others having no problems?

     
  28. Rudolph Honza

    December 21, 2012 at 12:56 am

    My neighbour brought two bags of Happy Hips Chicken strips last night and i am very happy.

     
  29. andy blossy

    August 25, 2013 at 10:28 am

    Hi I have had similiar GI problems with Cricket, my 9 yr old malamute. Started giving her happy hips lamb /rice strips and she developed some nasty diarrhea . This is new, and I began to suspect the HappyHips. Now I learn it is made in China no wonder . The chicken was recalled for the exact same reasons, and I notice other pet food suppliers, Innova, etc, have had recalls , it happens they were buying their meat products from China. Ok, not rocket physics, time to stay with USA products, we have standards !

     

Leave a Reply

 
