RSS

TreatStik

18 Feb

TreatStik Product Review

Product Name: TreatStik

Manufacturer’s Suggested Retail Price: $14.99

Tester: Six-year-old Labrador Retriever, Boudin, who can and has destroyed every other toy she’s ever had, except for natural femur bones.

Reviewer’s Comments: The manufacturer created the TreatStik for large dogs who were tough on other toys. It’s an interactive toy that you load up with treats. It can be a fetch toy or treat-dispensing toy and is made to stand up to the toughest dog. I was skeptical, because other tough toys have ended up in the trash at my house. My Lab is an aggressive chewer, who uses her back teeth to grind hard on any toy. She pops tennis balls in minutes, shreds Rhino Bones and Tough Kongs, and chomps down “tough” chews that are meant to last for days and weeks.

I gave her the TreatStik, loaded up with treats and she went to town. She pushed it all over the house to get the treats out, and when they were gone, she sat down to give it a good chew. She gave it a dedicated try day after day for months, and although it’s scratched up and catches carpet fuzz now, she has not been able to destroy it. She hooked her long canine tooth into the treat-dispense hole and went to town. It’s frayed and slightly larger, but it held. She ground her teeth all over the top and length of the TreatStik and it has held together with nary a crack.

It’s a great toy to leave with your dog when you go to work, because it keeps them busy and interested. You can load it with beef jerky as well as kibble. When the kibble’s gone, the jerky still smells good and keeps the dog’s interest. If you’re worried about your dog’s weight, you can load it with low-cal kibble or treats, cubed carrots, or Cherios.

The only reason we need to get another one now is that she has learned to unscrew the top. I am not kidding. I thought it was a fluke the first time or two when I came home and found the top off. But the last five times I’ve given it to her, I’ve come home and the top has been off, so I guess she really has figured it out. Who knew? I will say that even when she took the top off and chewed the crap out of the threads, I was still able to screw the top back on. This plastic they use is TOUGH!

I’ve heard the company is planning a smaller size, for smaller dogs, which is great, because I’ve talked to small dog owners whose dogs need toys for aggressive chewers, but the toys that are out there are too big. Can’t wait! Meantime, I’m going to get another TreatStik and see if I can thwart Boudin’s attempts to open it.

Lisa Woody, Lake Dallas, TX

 
5 Comments

Posted by on February 18, 2006 in Dog Product Reviews

 

5 responses to “TreatStik

  1. Jennifer Fitzwater

    April 19, 2006 at 10:45 am

    Love these things!! I do have to say though, the border collies learned to get the lid off the first time they got ahold of them (sorry Lisa lol!). However, I also blame my tendonitis for not being able to tighten the lid well. The plastic is darned near indestructable.

    We had a rescue that came in and was painfully thin and starving but we wanted her to eat slowly to prevent it coming right back up. I put a couple of cups in the Treatstik and it did the trick plus made her use her brain which she hadn’t done at the shelter for 2 weeks (no outside and no toys for 2 weeks). This dog was in absolute heaven with the Treatstik! I highly recommend this toy and if they can possibly devise a tighter or locking “industrious dog proof” lid (VBG), it would get a 5+ star in my book!

    Jennifer
    Mo-Kan Border Collie Rescue
    http://www.mokanbcrescue.org

     
  2. Dog Food Forum

    September 17, 2008 at 12:50 am

    I haven’t actually tried this.. We use a Kong which is basically the same thing but the idea behind these items are great.

     
  3. Eileen R

    April 1, 2009 at 12:12 pm

    This toy (treatstick) is the worst toy for a small poodle. It cost me $489 to have this remove from her mouth and cause lots of pain to my dog in the emergency room. Its bad for there teeth and at the time of the purchase treatstick did not have a warning that its not for small dogs. Save your money and your better off with buying the Rhino Cone from pet Smart.

     
    • J. Shepard

      June 10, 2012 at 11:26 pm

      Eileen, the same thing happened to my chihuahua. Thank goodness I was home and heard her screaming and yelping. Her bottom tooth was stuck and she was in full panic mode, even pooping herself and me. I tried for 10 minutes to get this thing off and had to put her down so I could re-group. Luckily she managed to push it off. Her gums are bleeding and I’m sure tomorrow she’ll be sore. She’s not letting me anywhere near her mouth yet so I don’t know what the full damage is.

       
  4. FunStuffForDogs.com

    June 11, 2012 at 10:22 am

    FunStuffForDogs.com says on the product page that it’s for dogs over 12 pounds.

     

Leave a Reply

 
