RSS

SSS Petcare Mattress – A Dog’s Favorite Bed

29 Apr

simmons beautyrest mattress for dogs petsI got an SSS Petcare Mattress as a gift seven years ago, when it was the Simmons Beautyrest mattress. [Editor's note: Simmons decided to stop making pet mattresses, but the company who made it for them continues to produce the exact same mattress under the name SSS Petcare Mattress).] It was a bit of a joke because my dogs were so spoiled, and the advertising for this bed  positioned it as “just as good as yours.” The individually pocketed coils, the craftsmanship, the comfort were all supposed to be identical to the human mattress.

dog mattress reviewMy first Basset Hound jumped up on it before I even had the plastic off the mattress. I’ve had four dogs in my house since I got it, two that have passed away and another two who are still with me. They all love the bed. When we say, “Let’s go to bed,” the dogs sneak into the bedroom to see who will be the first to get to sleep on the good bed. When the dominant dog steps down off the bed, the other one gets up on it.

I’ve tried other beds over the years when we had a puppy, convalescing dog or older dog. Some of these beds were pretty pricey. I’ve tried bumper beds where they can rest their head on the bumper. I’ve tried baffled foam beds and even an upscale bed from Land’s End. But they like their mattress best. I’ve donated other beds to shelters because they’re not interested. I’m not buying another type of bed. I’m just going to keep getting new covers for this one.

After seven years, it has not shown any signs of sagging in the center. I’ve replaced the fleece cover three times, but the mattress itself is in great shape. The only drawback is that you can’t throw it in the washing machine like some other fabric beds. But you can replace the cover and it is washable. I’ve been very happy with the mattress and it looks as though we’ll have plenty more years to enjoy it. – P. Zubeck, Arlington VA

 
26 Comments

Posted by on April 29, 2008 in Dog Product Reviews

 

Tags:

26 responses to “SSS Petcare Mattress – A Dog’s Favorite Bed

  1. Pet Strollers

    May 27, 2008 at 2:38 pm

    WOW that’s better than MY mattress. We have an older dog who I think could definitely benefit from having a more comfortable place to sleep than the floor. He used to sleep on the bed, but he’s having mroe and more trouble getting up there. I’m going to look into the dog mattress.

     
  2. Linz

    June 2, 2008 at 12:47 am

    Hm, I’ve heard of these things called pet mattresses and pet beds, but my vizsla seems to prefer my easy chair and *my* bed (under the covers, thank you very much) to special doggie spots. ;)

     
  3. LB

    June 5, 2008 at 11:44 am

    This bed is quite special!

     
  4. justin

    July 8, 2008 at 9:28 pm

    That is one intense puppy mattress. My puppy likes his $10 doggy bed from Target, though. :)

     
  5. Pet Care Portal

    September 1, 2008 at 6:48 pm

    A lot of people don’t realize that dogs need just as much support as we do when they sleep.

    Some breeds actually have a predisposition towards developing callouses if they do not have a soft enough bed.

    This is especially true of the heavier breeds.

    Your dogs look really comfortable by the way!

    Lucky pups!

     
  6. AKS

    October 14, 2008 at 9:59 am

    Does anyone know where to get another cover? I have been searching because I need a new one. I have had this bed for many years and my dogs have just worn out the cover. The bed itself is fine. All three of them love it.

     
  7. Lilia

    November 29, 2008 at 10:35 am

    Greetings,

    My name is Lilia and I am the proud owner of a Tea-cup Chihuahua. She has been a great addition to our family. My husband and I elected to have one child, Ethan, our other pride and joy. Therefore, we decided to give him a sister, Mia, our chihuahua. We have had other breeds of dogs with many anger and behavioral problems. I cannot say enough good remarks about this breed of dog. She is a true princess and a wonderful delight.

     
  8. Lost Pet

    December 24, 2008 at 2:09 pm

    This is a great idea as a holiday gift for my pets. Thanks!

     
  9. Sean

    January 20, 2009 at 8:40 am

    I only support human mattress…

    Pet? don’t need mattress!!!

     
  10. Dog Bed Information

    February 24, 2009 at 9:50 pm

    I have to say, I’ve not seen another pet mattress quite like this.

     
  11. sam

    April 21, 2009 at 3:38 pm

    We have two giant breed dogs (bullmastiff, mastador) and they have joint problems and callus formation on the knees UNLESS they have a good mattress. We’ve gone through traditional dog beds, crib mattresses, pillows, comforters, egg crates, etc. This one looks like it would be great. Dogs do deserve mattresses, especially if it saves them agony and you money at the vet!

     
  12. organic mattresses

    May 20, 2009 at 10:07 am

    hi

    its nice to see all the dogs got their own organic mattresses bed

    cheers,
    organic mattresses

     
  13. German Rottweiler breeders

    August 18, 2009 at 2:45 pm

    looks comfy. :)

    Alex,
    Vom Bullenfeld German Rottweilers

     
  14. Healthy Dogs

    October 11, 2009 at 1:06 am

    I sleep with my dog and I don’t mind but that mattress sure looks something my dog will like!

    I wish to find one near me at a discount price.

     
  15. deanelectricguitars

    December 22, 2009 at 12:12 am

    The dog mattress from simmons is great, nice post, thank you for sharing.
    simmons beautyrest

     
  16. nova form elite isotonic memory foam mattress topper

    February 12, 2010 at 10:01 pm

    what a great dog mattress. Would love to purchase one for my dog. Darn, why do they do away with this item.

     
  17. Zach Smith

    March 21, 2010 at 11:25 pm

    You can always try airing it out vacuuming the mattress if you want to clean it. If it smells odd after some time, you might want to sprinkle baking soda on the mattress and leave it there for a few minutes. It will diffuse any smell. After wards, vacuum it. Your pets will love to sleep on a clean mattress.

     
  18. beds and mattresses

    May 20, 2010 at 6:48 am

    Your blog is unique. Its will be an inspiration. Thank

     
  19. Jasmine

    May 31, 2010 at 1:11 am

    Wow! This pet care low mattress is too cool and I am sure they would provide even convenient to the pets. I love my pets and I mind it to provide all comforts to them. Thanks for sharing post.

     
  20. John Gary

    July 11, 2010 at 5:19 pm

    Dear Sir/Madam,
    Thank you for the mail and hope you are doing well today.I will like to know if you do carry Dog Mattress.Do get back to me with the types and cost for the ones you do carry and let me know if there is an extra cost when using visa or master card.Kindly get back to me with your name and your direct phone number.Are you the sales manager or the owner?
    Regards….
    John Gary

     
  21. Dog Boutique

    July 23, 2010 at 7:15 pm

    My dogs prefer to sleep on my matress, except for the new puppy that cannot get up onto our bed. We have 4 dogs and there are 2 beds and a cool mat for them in our bedroom. Only the puppy sleeps in the dog beds. (thats only because she cannot get up onto ours).

    She starts out in her sports car bed, then moves to the big bear bed.

     
  22. cathy greeb

    July 27, 2010 at 2:16 pm

    I have a big problem! Just like you my spoiled pooches love this bed. That’s not the problem. The problem is that I cannot find a replacement cover for the SSS Petcare pillowtop mattress. This is the best bed I have ever found and since two of the boys are getting older(one starting to experience joint pain) I want to stick with this bed!!! If someone can tell me where to get the pillow top cover I would greatly appreciate it. So would the boys!!
    P.S. I have already tried SSS Petcare website.

     
  23. wsforchildren.org

    August 11, 2010 at 12:09 pm

    If you do the installation yourself, but really to do the job as easy as possible is an option to look spray on insulation.

     
  24. KozyDogs

    September 9, 2010 at 2:08 pm

    Another great idea, my dog would love a mattress fro Christmas! Love your blog!

     
  25. Ria

    May 10, 2011 at 5:19 pm

    Nice mattress! I wish I can have one but my dog will surely rip it off.. :(

     
  26. organic mattresses

    November 11, 2011 at 7:33 pm

    Organic mattress is no have reservations a healthy alternative to sleep well and when the question of our kids comes then this would live the finalize alternative. Kids principally the small ones below 1-2 years exhausted mainly of their time sleeping; from this time they need to ensue known organic mattress to avoid them from being precious by the destructive chemicals which are donate in the insincere mattress. Thus individuals get your hoodwink a healthy and comfortable have a lie-down with this latex crib organic mattress.

     

Leave a Reply

 
