RSS

Outside Dogs Benefit No One

11 Feb

I believe the time has come to put an end to the outside dog.

Once upon a time, ours was a farming culture. We did not have fences, and dogs were working animals. Dog roamed their territory during the day, but stayed around their homes at night to provide an early warning system if any animal or person should approach.

It’s different now. We live on zero lots and in apartment buildings. We can’t let our dogs roam the neighborhood because there are a hundred ways they can cause damage or be hurt. So we keep them at home.

But many people still keep their dogs outside in the back yard. This mindset is a holdover whose time has passed.

People have a variety of reasons for keeping their dogs confined to the back yard. They have allergies. They don’t want dirt and dog hair on the carpet and furniture. They want the dog to provide protection. The dog pees in the house, so they keep it outside.

But let’s take a look at the dog’s needs for a moment. Dogs are pack animals. They need their pack, whether it be humans or other dogs. They’re social animals just like us. Dogs who are made to live in isolation in a yard are miserable. They bark, dig, run away and chew the deck down. Dogs need a social interaction. They need exercise. They need a change of scene, and mental stimulation, which is why walks are so good for them.

Making a dog stay outside is a costly waste, and — in my view — cruel. If you got a dog for protection, then bring the dog inside where it can protect your family and belongings. Dogs kept outside cause far more nuisance complaints from barking and escaping than any deterrent to intrusion. Dogs that annoy the neighbors are vulnerable to teasing, harm, theft and release. Locking a dog in a yard protects an intruder, not you. Most dogs will just run away if a gate is opened. Others are killed through the fence. Dogs who are tied are no threat to anyone who simply keeps out of their reach. They’ll bark, but outdoor dogs bark so much already that everyone ignores them.

Compare that to an indoor dog who barks like crazy or jumps up on the door or window that an intruder is attempting to get through and the effect is much different. A robber can’t hurt your indoor dog until the dog can hurt him. For most thieves, it’s not worth the risk. It’s easier to find a house where the dog is restrained outside or in the back yard, and out of the way. According to Dr. Dennis Fetko, Ph.D., yard dogs usually exhibit aggression, not protection. In this dog’s very small world, everyone who passes by or enters has already violated the territory that dog has marked dozens of times a day for years. That’s not protection, it’s not desirable and it overlooks the social contract. Property owners have an implied social contract with others in the community. Letter carriers, paper boys, delivery people, law enforcement, emergency medical personnel, meter readers and others are allowed near and at times on your property without your permission. Sure, that ten-year-old was not supposed to jump your fence after his ball, kite or Frisbee; but neither you nor your dog are allowed to cause him injury if he does.

If you have allergies to dogs, you need to find another home for the dog, or employ cleaning methods or flooring materials that allow you to live more comfortably with your dog. I’ve known couples who merge households only to discover that one of them is allergic to the other’s dog. But by replacing carpeting with hardwood or tile and replacing fabric sofas with leather, by teaching the dog not to enter certain rooms such as the bedroom, and teaching the dog not to get on the furniture, many of these allergies were reduced.

The truth is, the more you can control a dog’s environment, the more control you have over the dog itself. Indoor problems such as peeing and chewing are easier to solve than outdoor problems. When a dog is alone indoors, you are still an influence because your scent and personal areas are a reminder of you and your training.

If you keep your dog outside because it pees when it comes inside, then you need to learn how to train your dog not to pee and poop inside the house. Millions of homeowners do manage to teach dogs of all ages and breeds to go outside. There are lots of free resources on housebreaking and crate training that will have any dog housebroke in a couple of weeks. Likewise, there are plenty of low-cost ways to keep a dog occupied and busy so she won’t chew your sofa and cabinets to shreds. People who use behavior problems as an excuse for confining a dog in unnatural isolation in the yard are just abdicating their responsibility.

We’ve all heard countless stories about family dogs saving everyone during a fire. How many people would be dead today if those dogs were kept outside?

People who get dogs need companionship, protection and someone to care for. Our dogs need exercise, social interaction and something to do.

Bring your dogs in with the rest of the family, where they belong.

Special thanks to Dennis Fetko, Ph.D. (www.drdog.com)

 

82 responses to “Outside Dogs Benefit No One

  1. Steve

    March 3, 2008 at 6:03 pm

    I agree with you wholeheartedly, except for one thing… the farming culture of the working dog is still alive and well in many rural areas. Many breeds of working dogs do make excellent family companions, in which case their very instinct is to be bonded to the family, indoors. But I truly believe that nothing heightens our appreciation for those breeds more than seeing them working, in the very environment that produced those admirable traits, if you are lucky enough to be able to witness this sometime.

    EDITOR’S NOTE: Absolutely right, Steve. What a privelege to watch these wonderful working dogs doing what they love to do. A friend of our family grew up on a dairy farm, and used to bring us to the farm with her to visit. She told us about their farm dogs, usually collies, who would sleep on the back porch and guard the farm. When coming home late at night, she would tell the dog it, “It’s just me,” and he’d go back to sleep. Those dogs were in no way neglected, because they were a part of the family, both indoors and out.

     
  2. Connie

    March 4, 2008 at 1:42 am

    Truer words have never been spoken!

     
  3. Alex

    April 8, 2008 at 5:33 am

    Yes; too many people consider their needs first and the dog’s needs second. As they have no control over the environment you provide for them, you have to think of them more. If you really love dogs I think you’d rather not have one than have one in an inappropriate environment.

     
  4. Pretty Paws

    April 10, 2008 at 5:11 pm

    I live in a central Minnesota town that does not enforce any dog laws. I don’t mind if dogs are let outside to roam their yard and go potty. What is a little scary is when one of the dogs comes up to you and starts barking with raised back fur. I get a little frightened. I know the dog is only acting instinctively trying to prevent a stranger from a possible intrusion. The owners need to accompany their dogs just in case the dog should happen to attack. It makes for a safer neighborhood when untethered dogs are watched by their “parents”. http://www.PrettyPawsBoutique.com

     
  5. nyc puppy service

    April 13, 2008 at 9:09 am

    Great post and this holds true even in New York City. A dog kept / locked up outside is usually a sign of neglect and is dangerous for the dogs themselves, let alone the mental stresses it can create. Exposing children to dogs at an early age can help avoid allergies. There are lots of free resources out there for many of the problems people encounter with dogs (house training, leash training, etc.) that might put them outside.

     
  6. sediment

    June 3, 2008 at 11:58 pm

    Sediment says : I absolutely agree with this !

     
  7. Margaret

    June 18, 2008 at 8:57 pm

    I thoroughly agree.

    Just a few days ago an acquaintance was late for work because, as she was leaving for work, she had received a phone call from several suburbs away to say that her dog had been found there.

    When I asked how she could not have known that her dog was missing she replied: “Oh, we don’t feed him in the morning.”

    How about taking to him in the morning? How about taking him for a walk in the morning? How about just saying “hello” and patting him in the morning?

    Or how about explaining why you have a dog at all!

     
  8. Ann

    July 7, 2008 at 3:07 pm

    I have a neighbor who leaves their dog out in the back yard all the time. I walk “their dog” everyday two miles because I feel sorry for her. They will even go on vacation for four days and just put out buckets of hard food and water. They told me that a relative would be coming daily with their dog to play with the dog and feed him. However, I know no one came because the large bowls of food were covered with ants, were hard from the hot sun, and the dog would not eat it. I threw out the food and just put a little in the bowl several times a day to feed “their” dog. I did this to see if the bowls would be refilled. They wern’t. Also, I put his cushion in the back yard by their door off the family room. They had it way in the front of the house next to the garage. I saw him sleeping on the cement next to their door in the back so I put his cushion back there. Everytime I went over there he was sleeping on it. He will not sleep in his dog house nor cushion at the front of the house next to the garage. They will not put in a pet door into the garage and there is no patio cover. When they returned from vacation they “insisted” someone was coming over daily. The next day the cushion was taken from their family room door and put back near the garage so the dog is sleeping on the cement again in the back. Also, his tail has been down through the weekend.They asked if I noticed and I told them I believe it is because he is unhappy because his family was gone so long. Of course, they are in denial and won’t listen to anything. What to do? Is it me? How do I get them to realize that a dog has feelings and gets lonely just like people?

     
  9. dog back pack

    November 29, 2008 at 12:53 am

    I am looking for an dog back pack which material will be good and what will be the idle quality on purchasing the back pack.
    Thanks

     
    • Rebut

      November 26, 2012 at 6:54 am

      I’d say fabric! Are you putting it on the dog or on you or holding it? How big ?

      Dog bags-website: http://www.dogshop.com
      Dog bags up to $30 come in colors and sizes ! But be lucky to find some

      Also found some cool shoes for dogs! I know right !!! They looks cutee and are $5 there’s even ribbons and all that.. Look up other websites if this didn’t help? And if you want human ones go to target or Walmart taah..!

       
  10. Ashley K

    December 15, 2008 at 10:33 pm

    Wow… am I the only person in the entire WORLD that has two incredibly happy and well loved OUTSIDE dogs? I walk both of my dogs every day, they show NO aggression whatsover and have kept my home safe for years. I haven’t had a theft ever since I got my dog Buddy. And unlike most dogs when I open my gate, the last thing he does is bolt out. He just follows at my side… you know why? Beause he LOVES me. He has no intrest in leaving me now or ever. He gets free roam of my back and front yard and when I leave he’s sitting on my porch. AND GUESS WHAT? When I come back, he’s laying right where he was when I left him ready for his walk. So don’t tell me there’s no such thing as a happy outside dog. It can be ENTIRLEY possible…

     
    • Brandon

      May 4, 2010 at 7:21 pm

      I agree. I have a Husky and a Yellow Lab. I take good care of them but can’t have them inside because of my toddler’s allergies. They are happy and well taken care of. They have plenty of shade, heated dog houses, are fed daily, and given water twice a day. My kids and I play with them daily and they are walked by my wife in the morning and by me and the kids in the evening. They go to a weekly free “Pack to Basics” socialization class. Not because they need it, but because they have so much fun there. They don’t run off and they play in the front yard with all the neighbor kids quite often. They have never been aggressive with other dogs or people. Don’t say I don’t really love dogs. It just shows ignorance.

       
    • Jessica

      July 26, 2010 at 11:05 am

      I also have a happy outside dog. I think it is healthy for dogs to be outside. I get so frustrated with people who are overly concerned with things that are not their problem and those who lack common sense to provide a safe and healthy environment for animals they “own”. My 10 month old husky/wolf mix spends some time inside to bond with her pack the rest of the time she is exercised or gets to enjoy our roomy yard. She rarely barks, when she does we pay attention and train her as needed.

       
    • hot

      September 22, 2011 at 3:38 pm

      Thank you thank you thankyou

       
    • meeeee.

      May 12, 2012 at 10:24 am

      LOL well said! I got abused so much once for asking a question about how to get my friend to put her dog OUTSIDE! I have grown up with a family who love dogs but make it a rule to keep them outside. We had a rotty who absolutely LOVED us to death! and she was never allowed inside (closest to inside was the deck) and she was the happiest and healthiest dog ever, she sadly passed away from old age. We now have a american bulldog who is spoilt like crazy. she actually had her own couch before she had puppies (we had to throw it away because it was old, smelled and falling apart) the deck is also the social area for everyone so our dog is never alone, weather it be the kids playing with her or the adults cuddling her she is happy. We also lived on a large area of land, and my family are outdoors people who are always outside fixing fences or building or even just sitting around talking/playing with the dog. she is more lively when she is outside too, we usually see her rolling down the hill then running back up to do it again, and whenever im home alone I prefer sitting on the step cuddling her. the place im living at now is different, my friend has a pitbull who is treated like a child. He is allowed inside and he leaves light brown fur EVERYWHERE! ruined brand new couches and drags mud and crap in with him. we cant eat without him trying to snatch it off us. he chases the cat and pretty much thinks he owns the place. hundreds of dollars have been spent to keep him happy and healthy but my friend insists on letting him in to do as he pleases. He is fine outside, he listens but as soon as he is inside all his training goes out the window. I wouldnt mind s much if he was good and listened inside but he doesnt. he has toys, water and food, shelter and warmth outside and freedom of a big back yard. Im outside with him most of the day and usually go to cuddle him 4-5times a night. my friend walks him, plays fetch/tug-o-war and whatever else outside. he IS loved and happy.

       
    • Evelyn

      July 5, 2012 at 11:20 pm

      Thank you! I have a lab/border collie myself that I leave outside when I go out or to work. My only other option for her would be to lock her away in a small crate all day; which is more cruel?
      I’m tired of people telling me I shouldn’t have a dog if I want to leave her outside. My dog loves me, we take walks every day together, she is always by my side, she listens perfectly, we run agility recreationally, and she attends a just for fun once a week socialization class. She is not at all neglected or sad. People need to stop judging other people for how they care for their dogs.

       
    • Charla

      March 25, 2013 at 2:07 pm

      No! you are not. I was thinking the same thing. My dog loves it outside and has a large area (electronically fenced) that she stays in. We do not get complaints about barking, because she does not bark unless there is something to bark at. Dog’s weren’t naturally indoor creatures. They love the outdoors. They aren’t as sensitive to the cold as we are, they are built with a body to handle it. Come on people….

       
      • moria bolduc

        March 26, 2013 at 5:30 pm

        Dogs are pack animals no they should not live outside they get cold like people they die of exposure you cant justify this dogs are domesticated if you want something outside and unfriendly get a wolf the emotional torture in letting a dog live outside is horrific

         
    • Michelli Workman Good

      April 11, 2013 at 1:52 am

      i think outside dogs are great. there are still plenty of working dogs that live outside. these ppl are too huggy feely. give me a break. there are working dogs that prefer outside so to keep them inside would be cruel.

       
  11. Gabbos

    December 16, 2008 at 11:39 pm

    My dogs love life outside. But sometimes it does get chilly!

     
  12. Kat

    February 14, 2009 at 11:33 am

    My dog is an outside dog and is showing many of the behaviors highlighted in your article. I hate leaving him outside, but theirs little I can do. I’ve tried to convince my mother and her boyfriend, but…nothing.
    Here’s their excuses:
    “we have young children, dog gonna hurt them” -Not even his learned how to behave properly WITH the children IN the house.
    “He too big” – O.O, so? Our house is big…
    He’ll pee/poo/eat garbage”-It’s called TRAINING.

    I’ve often sneaked him into the house while they are out, and he’s perfectly fine, a little hyper, but can you blame him?Yes he will still pee in the house, but only because he hasn’t been in one for so long(he use to stay in the house when he was a pup).
    And now, he’s developing human AND some dog aggression problems. Hmm, I wonder why MOM?

    Any advice…?

     
    • gwig

      May 28, 2009 at 1:33 pm

      My advice is move out of your Mom’s house. It is HER house.

       
    • MoonApple

      October 12, 2010 at 3:16 pm

      You are probably causing some behavior problems by confusing the dog sneaking him into the house he knows he shouldn’t be in.

       
    • tom

      December 3, 2010 at 11:49 am

      Your Mother need’s a wake up call. My little boy was attacked by a neighbor’s dog who is chained up outside 24/7. It slipped out of it’s collar and attacked my son in our yard. This is what happens to dogs that are chained up outside 24/7. Your Mom needs to find a training school for the dog. You can ask your Human Association to find a training school for the dog. This dog will hurt or kill someone, one day. This is not being a good pet owner. Why do you think that Human Societies will not adopt out a dog if the owners are going to leave the animal tied up outside 24/7? Because it is the wrost thing you can do to a pet.

       
  13. Anssi

    March 14, 2009 at 8:41 pm

    I have to disagree with this. Not everyone lives in small homes in the city, some still live on farms and other places where there is lots of space for dogs to be roam free and not disturb anyone.

     
  14. Mark Henderson

    March 24, 2009 at 12:13 pm

    my dog loves his back yard just as much as he likes his inside. he doesn’t spend the night outside. my neighbors seem to like visiting with him when he is outside. …………….. there are people that shouldn’t be aloud out of the house much less have pets. some people should be slapped upside the head, but that might be what happened to them.

     
  15. MORIA BOLDUC

    August 11, 2009 at 2:50 pm

    leaving dogs ouside is cruel and inhumane,if you have this mindset you should not own a dog.they are a gift from god,we are there guardians,please spread the word,backyard dogs are from the ignorant farm mentality,grow up get modern

     
    • Mike Novotny

      August 30, 2009 at 2:04 pm

      Yes they are a gift from God, but I don’t think he intended them for us to take them in. If we never took dogs in as pets, they would be free roaming animals to do as they please. Not locked up in a house and only getting an hour or so of fresh air. That’s how they should be because they are related to wolves and wolves are very capable of living on their own. that’s how it should be.

       
      • nat

        October 10, 2011 at 6:58 pm

        Totally agree with this. They have FUR COATS and are uncomfortable in a warm /ht house!

         
  16. Mike Novotny

    August 30, 2009 at 2:00 pm

    First off, the whole topic on “Outside Dogs Benefit No One” is because we baby them. Dogs are related to wolves and wolves are able to live on their own. Why can’t dogs? I’m not sure when people started to take in canines as pets, but when they did, they screwed up. Dogs shouldn’t even be kept as pets. If we didn’t baby them, they could be left outside by themselves. That’s how dogs should be. Not locked up inside a house and only get an hour or so of fresh air. They should always be kept outside

     
    • Jessalyn

      September 10, 2009 at 4:27 pm

      Mike – You are an idiot.

      Many potential adopters ask “Is this an ‘Outside’ dog?” Our answer is, “Not anymore.” We attempt to place dogs with people who understand the need of a dog to be a part of the family. Even thousands of years ago when man and all animals lived “outside”, there was a cave or den for shelter, and man and dogs lived in small groups or “packs”. The truth is, times have changed but we and the dogs haven’t. Both humans and dogs are “pack” animals, we do not tend to be solitary. Domesticated, companion dogs no longer have packs of other dogs to live with, so dogs now need to be members of human families or packs. Furthermore, both people and dogs are “den” animals. This is the reason that dogs can be housebroken. Dogs want shelter in a safe, secure den – your home – and they want their den to be clean.

      Obviously dogs can be forced to live outside, alone and away from their families. But to force this kind of life on a dog is one of the worst things you can do to him. Such a life goes against a dog’s two most basic instincts: the pack and the den. If you have any doubts about these ideas, think of all the whining, barking, clawing dogs you have seen tied up alone outside. Dogs trying desperately to get their human families’ attention, and then just giving up to become hyperactive, listless, fearful, or vicious when the stress of enforced solitude becomes too much to cope with.

      The rationale given by people who permanently keep their dogs outside is that they will spend time with the pet outside. Even the most well-meaning pet owner does not spend significant time outside, particularly when it is raining or cold. Consequently, under the best of circumstances for the outside dog, a bowl of food and water hastily shoved before him, a quick pat given, and his owner, his WORLD is gone, leaving the animal to spend another 22 or 23 hours alone.

      A dog brings you the gifts of steadfast devotion, abiding love, and joyful companionship. Unless you can responsibly accept a dog’s offer of these great gifts, please do not get a dog. If you already have a dog, perhaps this article will help you to see things from his point of view, and possibly motivate you to change your relationship with him. A sad, lonely, bewildered dog, kept outside, wondering why he cannot be with his family, brings only sadness and unhappiness to the world.

       
      • MoonApple

        October 12, 2010 at 3:22 pm

        Jessalyn- you are a bigger idiot.

        You only imagine in your little head that the dog needs to be inside. I know from experience that people can ignore their dogs when they’re inside too. An indoor dog often just sits there instead of running, exploring, breathing fresh air, and enjoying the sights and sounds of being outside. Not to mention they get underfoot, get hair everywhere, make the house smell “doggy”, or need to be stuck in a cage at all times. Let ‘em free!

         
    • Nic

      November 2, 2009 at 1:46 pm

      Ok Mike,

      You clearly are not educated on the domestication of dogs. Over the last several hundred years, MAN has taken wild wolves/dog and created DOMESTICATED breed… hence… breeds of dogs that do not match their environment…. Such as a chihuahua that cannot tolerate cold, but can be owed by soneone in Alaska, or a Malamute that is owned by someone in Arizona and cannot tolerate the heat… Plain and simple, if somone plans to OWN a pet, they need to accept responsibility to treat them as a pet… otherwise, let the dog lovers keep them and everyone else just get a “chia pet” or something that requires litrtle to no care, love or affection… MORON!!

       
    • Michelle

      October 14, 2010 at 8:50 pm

      I agree with you Mike….I can not stand people who baby their dogs and put them as their first priority!

       
  17. Dog Lover

    September 11, 2009 at 1:16 am

    Hey, dogs are people too. You should let them run your house. I let mine eat with us. Leaving them out side is so cruel, I hope obama does something about this.Can you imagine a house full of chickens goats horses and dogs, thats the way god wanted us to live. Bring that dog inside, the chewed furniture, the poop, the smells are all worth it. remember, dogs are people too.

     
    • Michelle

      October 14, 2010 at 8:48 pm

      You are being sarcastic right??? Is there something wrong with you?

       
    • Evelyn

      July 5, 2012 at 11:33 pm

      You just made my day.

       
  18. Brian Jones

    September 18, 2009 at 8:45 am

    I think all city dogs should have a place in the home. I have two dogs and both are inside dogs. I don’t know many people who love their dogs and make them sleep outside. If you are truly a dog person, your dog ends up inside with you. They can still protect your family from there. My dogs wake me even if someone walks on the yard. I agree that all city dogs and dog lovers should keep them inside.

     
  19. Josh

    October 12, 2009 at 2:49 am

    I’m not sure how I feel on your article because I have an outside dog and she means the world to me. She gets a lot of attention after work and school, she has the garage open to her, as well as a dog house and a bed in the garage. The yard is rather large and I take her out in my truck and walks, or to the park when I get my running in and let her free-roam. We do bring her in when it gets cold. But, people they are dogs, not people and should be treated just like pets. I have only had one thing ever broken into, my truck, but the dog was barking, but they just smashed and left (my brand new iPod and CD player were taken out) so I couldn’t get to them in time. So I’m not really seeing anything in your article that applies to my outside dog. It is not cruel to have outside dogs, as long as you take care of them like most people I know around here (I live on one acre in a subdivision, not in the city). She seems very happy to me back there.

    It was well written though (Masters and BA in Journalism)

     
  20. bird supplies

    January 7, 2010 at 2:59 pm

    This is a very individual decision

     
  21. pet shops

    January 7, 2010 at 3:01 pm

    I think it depends on the type of dog you have as well

     
  22. Guinness

    February 1, 2010 at 3:20 pm

    Couldn’t agree more. I can’t believe people would have a dog just for there security. I thought we moved past all this nonsense and have come to treat dogs and cats as part of the family.

     
  23. moria bolduc

    April 10, 2010 at 3:47 pm

    PEOPLE NEED TO WAKE UP A SOCITY IS JUDGED BY HOW WE TREAT OUR ANIMALS DOMESTIC ANIMALS DOGS AND CATS NEED TO SLEEP IN THE FAMILY HOME WITH THERE MASTERS ANYTHING LESS IS MONSTROUS ITS CRUEL ,ITS AN EASY WAY OUT FOR PEOPLE WHO QUOTE WANT TO KEEP THE HOUSE CLEAN THESE PEOPLE MAKE ME SICK,ANY LEAVING A DOG ALONE IN THE YARD ALL DAY ISNT CORRECT EITHER ANOTHER FORM OF THE EASY WAY OUT,THESE ARE THE PEOPLE THAT WILL LEAVE THERE DOG ALONE IN yard with a bowl while they go on a fancy vacation.they ought to be the one left and see how they like it

     
  24. moria bolduc

    April 10, 2010 at 3:57 pm

    FOR ME THERE IS NO EITHER OR ,SOME IDIOT HAD THE NERVE TO TELL ME WELL IT DEPENDS ON THE SIZE OF THE DOG I DONT THINK SO,THERE ISNT ROOM FOR GREY HERE DOGS WANT TO BE WITH THERE MASTERS PERIOD IF THEY ARE LOVED CARED FOR THEY GO OUTSIDE MAYBE 30 MINUTES A DAY FOR BATHROOM PURPOSES SOME OF THESE PEOPLE ESCAPED FROM ALASKE TRULY PEOPLE WITH NO SENSITIVETY OR CARING THEY WOULD THROW THE DOG IN FRONT OF A CAR RATHER THAN TAKE IT TO THE VET ,THESE ARE TRULY SICK GREEDY PEOPLE

     
  25. moria bolduc

    April 10, 2010 at 10:50 pm

    they come into our life and our homes for a reason,they put a lock into our heart,just looking st photos of my baby my two year old mini aussie,they dont ask for much only shelter in our home food ,at least one hour per day of attention excersice,god is testing us,.do we turn them away like a beggar in the night do we toss them inour yard like yesterdays trash,when we leave this earth we will be judged either treat them right like you would a family member or dont get a dog theres enough abuse in the world amen

     
  26. Maya

    July 21, 2010 at 7:11 pm

    I agree 100% on everything you mention in this article; I do keep my two dogs inside the house all the time, but you forgot to mention the rewards of doing so!!! They are companions and they become your best friends. My Yellow Labrador, for instance, understands a lot of what I say because I talk to him like I would talk to a child. One example: if he is eating and I move away from his side, he follows me and I would tell him “what happened? go back to finish your meal” and he turns back and keeps eating. He is so cute! Well, this is just an example. Thank you for your thoughts on this subject.

    Regards,

    Maya

     
  27. Gina

    July 31, 2010 at 2:34 pm

    Yes, dogs were once wild and in some places they still are, but since humans have domesticated dogs they belong in a family arrangement. Domesticated dogs bond with their humans and consider them part of their pack. Pack animals never want to be seperated from their pack, they eat together, play together and sleep together. I personally don’t think one way or the other is “best.” I think every situation is different. As long as a dog is loved, well cared for and has some kind of shelter to protect them from the elements I believe the animal would do fine. As for myself, I have an inside dog, a Rottweiler, she is very loved and well cared for. She goes in and out to her backyard as she wishes, she tells me when she wants to go outside by standing at the back door. She also tells me when she wants to come back in, so not all dogs want to “be outside all the time.” It’s about using common sense and having common decency. Treat a pet the way you would hope to be treated.

     
  28. Gina

    July 31, 2010 at 2:43 pm

    I also have an inside cat, who we rescued from outside….we built her a 8 ft tall X 6 ft wide screen-enclosed cat pen that is attached to the outside of our house. We then installed a cat door in our family room window and she can go in and out as she pleases. We know of 6 cats and kittens who were killed on our road by cars in just the last year alone.

     
    • nat

      October 13, 2011 at 5:15 pm

      Don’t have cats if you can’t let them outside free. Simple. Its ridiculous keeping a cat in a pen inside. So cruel.

       
  29. KozyDogs

    September 9, 2010 at 2:29 pm

    I agree, I love dogs so much but I am allergic. I changed to hardwood floors and leather furniture and it is much easier to keep cleaned up.

     
  30. Insulated dog house

    October 3, 2010 at 10:32 pm

    This is quite a hot topic with different point of views. Personally i think the right middle is the best. The dog should be allowed inside at some time of the day but there should also be an outdoor dog house where he can stay when for some reasons he may not be wanted inside the house.

     
  31. MoonApple

    October 12, 2010 at 3:33 pm

    Dogs are not people, they are animals. If they are cared for, taught their place, and shown affection, they are happy, whether indoors or out. They don’t think badly of you for keeping them outside because they don’t think like we do. Dog owners are often guilty of transferring their own thoughts and feelings onto the dog, as though the dog is the one thinking/feeling like the owner does. A dog is capable of being happy either indoors or out as long as you teach him to be; if you flip out over putting your dog outside, your dog will flip out too. Quit trying to think for your dog.

     
  32. C

    November 17, 2010 at 3:21 am

    Dogs were not made to be inside because they urinate and tear up furniture because they are not people they are animals! dogs shouldnt be confined to a small space for the rest of their lives that is cruel. Keeping an animal locked up all day while you are at work is cruel. Dogs are made to live outside. DUH! Talk about bordem inside the home. A animal inside cannot hear the birds,feel the wind, smell the dirt, chase the bugs. There is more to offer a animal outside more so than inside listening to a tv. If you feel like your outside dog needs a companion have two outside to play and interact while your not home during the day. I bet a outside dog has just as much interaction with there owner than a inside one.

     
  33. Bum Bag

    November 17, 2010 at 12:17 pm

    i would usually visit pet shops because my dog and cats can eat so much pet food in one day *,*

     
  34. Renee

    April 5, 2011 at 4:03 pm

    Like vegans, religious fanatics and other “there’s only one way to skin a cat” types, dog people are so closed minded.

    I hate to inform you all that this world in which we inhabit does not follow these rules of black and white to which you so desperately cling. It is possible to have a relationship with your dogs and still prefer them to reside outside.

    I have one dog that is an indoor dog and two that are mostly outside; they come in at night to sleep in a kennel. During the day, they have each other, plenty of space to run, food twice a day, fresh water, and the random visit from their extended pack (my other dog, myself and my kids). This arrangement works for us.

    Get off your high-horses, seriously.

     
    • Amanda C

      September 3, 2011 at 1:15 am

      This is best reply I’ve ever read on this discussion.

       
  35. Ria

    May 10, 2011 at 5:42 pm

    Agree! Dogs should be given a comfortable and safe place to stay and lived in..

     
  36. it services austin

    August 8, 2011 at 4:54 pm

    You should take part in a contest for one of the best blogs on the web. I will recommend this site!

     
  37. sjc1973

    September 25, 2011 at 9:19 am

    Hi, my neighbours have just brought a 8 week old husky puppy. They keep him outisde and he bark sand cries a lot. They gave a two metere square cage they keep him in which has a little house. He seems to be in it a lot. I’m not adverse to people keeping their dogs outside with the rights conditions but this is cruel!!!!! I have spoken to them but they do not understand this. I also think it is selfish and inconsiderate to neighbours to have a puppy outside who barks a lot!!! I would be intersted to hear other people’s views

     
    • meeeee.

      May 12, 2012 at 10:40 am

      Its a husky! being inside where it is warm/hot could be more dangerous to its health then keeping him outside would be. I dont agree on the cage part though, he has a house to keep him sheltered. As long as they are giving him love and attention (along with food and water etc..) then he’s be fine

       
  38. slylaws

    October 5, 2011 at 4:27 pm

    I also have a happy outside dog, enough said to you judgmental fools

     
  39. Amber

    November 26, 2011 at 12:05 pm

    i beleive that dogs are happier outside than inside but you need to bring your dog in every 6 hours and at night. just because they bark it does not meen they are mad or sad they bark because they are happy most of the time. they get out and dig because thats theyre way to communticate with others. thats what people dont understand.

     
  40. Restored Relationships

    December 28, 2011 at 8:40 pm

    Since we have a doggie door, ours come and go as they like. We have doggie beds all through the house and they both lay together. We have a Lab and a toy Schnauzer. We use baby crib sheets and blankets to cover the beds. We bathe both dogs once a week and change the bedding at that time. They think that they are human and we treat them like they are humans. Our house does not smell like dog. I’ve been in some homes that are very strong in dog odor and it drives me crazy. I’ve always had large dogs and they have always been inside dogs. Why have a dog that just takes up space in the back yard with no relationship with it’s owners.

     
  41. Claire

    December 29, 2011 at 12:35 am

    This was a great article to read. I personally think that before anyone should ever get a dog, they should review the environment ths dog will be living in, and compare it to how they would want to live. If everyone did this there would be no problems at all.

    Claire
    Cicisdogblog.blogspot.com

     
  42. Spyner

    December 30, 2011 at 9:53 am

    There’s nothing wrong with having an outside dog, I have had both and all my outdoor dogs have lived longer and were happier than the indoors. I mainly only have one outdoor dog at a time (a mutt with long fur since it does get chilly) and we do live on a farm. They usually go out to the fields and catch groundhogs. During the summer it’ll just sleep where ever it wants outside, during the winter/raining season it may go into the shed or barn.
    People think that it’s good keeping a dog indoors instead of out, because it’s better for humans. But is it really better? Depending the breed and where you live. Remember: dogs are still animals, and animals prefer being out in the wilderness, even if they are pack animals most of the time most breeds (except for the dumbed down minature toys) of dogs would rather be outside.
    I see a lot of comments on here from people who obviously have no clue what they’re talking about, only listening to what their hippie parents told them. Seriously, before you spout off, think, dogs have lived outside for years and years, alone and/or in a pack. Why would things be different now?
    Oh yeah, because a couple of pansies decided it.

     
    • Dog Toys And Treats.com

      January 2, 2012 at 5:45 pm

      You raise some good points, but the difference between dogs living outside through the centuries vs. now is that they weren’t confined to a small yard. – L

       
  43. Speak the truth

    December 30, 2011 at 2:05 pm

    You have some very good points and i agree with most of them but why do you assume a family with an outdoor dog neglects the dog. Just because the dog may be in the backyard all day doesn’t mean the family members aren’t giving the dog the attention needed. I speak from experience my parents are divorced and growing up with my mom we had a few dogs all indoor dogs they were house trained and all that but my dad remarried and his wife believed dog should live outside that how she was raised infact her family dog Nina was a border collie who lived strictly outdoors that dog was so friendly and smart. Since sh grew up taught dogs live outside she continues to inforce this role with our rotty Kita whom lives outside her dog house has carpet a chimney a window and a master bedroom lol Kita gets love and attention all the time Florida’s weather allows us to be outside year round in fact Kita plays with the kids most of the day and she gets daily walks. So my point is an outside dog doesn’t mean the dogs unhappy a happy depends on the owner(s) but like I said I agree with most of your points I just got a vibe you think an outdoor dog means it’s neglected of attention which isn’t true in all cases maybe just some

     
  44. Jesse

    January 5, 2012 at 8:25 pm

    I think there are extremes always to both sides. In this day in age, with the amount of time we spend indoors vs outdoors, it makes sense to have the dog inside with us, as they are part of the family. Theres the dogs that are babied and given the royal treament and better off than many children in the world. And In many other countries , dogs run wild in the streets, cities, and they have to fend for them selves, in packs, and individually. They fight for food just to survive, among cars, humans and the rest of the elements. And a large majority survive! In my case, im living in one of these countries. We have a pup, lab pup of 4 months, shes living outdoors in here own concrete house (probably size of a manhattan studio). She has the yard to roam around in, and is loved by the family, and most importantly gets her daily attention. She never barks, and we have trained and corrected most of her actions since day 1.

     
    • moria bolduc

      January 10, 2012 at 7:47 pm

      i STill feel its better to be with family i e than stuck out in some doghouse ,if your dog is happy now at least you think she is see how she is if she sleeps in the house in her crate,how much better she would feel, perhaps people can justify anything as for those dogs that roam yes in mexico and central and south america ,theyve got no choice, think about it

       
      • Dog Toys And Treats.com

        January 10, 2012 at 11:07 pm

        You’re right. Those dogs are feral or wild. They start whelping puppies at 6 months old, they’re crawling with fleas, flies, lice and mange their entire lives, and they die from broken bones, dental infections and bellyaches routinely because they have no veterinary care. The idealized notion that dogs are better off in a wild state without human intervention is nonsense. However, that is not to say that people who keep dogs in the yard have wild or feral dogs with no human contact. Not the same thing at all.

         
  45. jb

    February 13, 2012 at 11:40 am

    I think a lot of dogs are happier outside. I feel sorry for dogs that are kept in all the time. My Saint Bernard was happiest when there was snow on the ground. But I wouldn’t leave my chihuahua out in the snow.

     
    • Rebut

      November 26, 2012 at 7:09 am

      Jb I totally agree.. My puppy -Maltese shihtzu- his 18 weeks old an loves his outside area!!

      Blog about my pup

      A. A.
      AAA
      —–>>>> his a puppy and his names gizmo his black & white and already toilet trained e sleeps with me and loves it…His as cuddly as can be but jiggly jaggly when he sleeps
      His 24/7% fussy with normal doggy stuff like ‘fussy with where he does his business, where he sleeps what he eats, where he goes.. He luckily doesn’t have sharp teeth and won’t go Munch much all over the place, can we fee puppies bones? His treats are these soft milky ones! He loves them! Should I stock to the same treats ? Once he got direr and somehow gave me it ?? On his first day he spewed cos I think his was drinking mothers teats

       
      • Maddy

        November 26, 2012 at 7:11 am

        And we bought him and he lost him Mummy Daddy, brothers & sisters I fell really sad for my pup now he’s forgotten them we got him at 5weeks old and he is soo patient

        Maddy 10

         
      • Moria Bolduc

        December 4, 2012 at 11:12 pm

        Dear Eden.
        House train and manner train your dogs with a professional dog trainer,You can keep them both in crates in the house up to an 8 hour period,so they cant do any damage if they are contained i was forced by my oh so lovely husband to leave my dog in the garage only at night for 18 months i had him in the house from 630 am to 6 pm ,im angry that i let that go on .IT WAS one of the reasons i left him i had a beautiful graceful dog he was jeoulous of the attention money and love i gave him hense the garage deal never again i live back in the city now so my new mini aussie only has an indoor option apartment living never let ones dog live out of your home it isnt healthy emotionally or mentally for you or the dogs we live in an advanced era progress not perfection

         
  46. meeeee.

    May 12, 2012 at 10:58 am

    Most dogs Iv met are outside dogs, who are happier then any indoor dog iv met. I dont agree with putting them on a leash and keeping them tied up all day every day however. they should be free, have shelter and warmth and lots of love and attention. Compare a dog who is outside free to chase the birds and play in the grass and also gets the family time he wants to a inside dog who doesnt have that freedom – I bet you the outside dog is a lot happier.

     
  47. Eden

    September 24, 2012 at 11:24 pm

    I’ve got 2 dogs now, and my partner and I often discuss having them indoors, we keep them both outdoors in the backyard, with the adjacent garage open. Their beds are in the garage, so is one of the two water bowls we have for them. We feed them morning and night, take them for walks every 1-2 days, and when I’m home, I’m usually outside every 2 hours or so playing with them. My dilemma (hence why I’m at this site) is that although dogs are pack animals, and my girls aren’t aggressive enough to warn back intruders, I just don’t know what’s best. I can’t leave them inside during the day, they aren’t trained yet. And our house is also rented, and the landlord said “no dogs inside”. Our floors are hardwood, save the carpet in the loungeroom, so if we bring the girls through to take them for a walk, they skid on the wood a lot. I’m also from a farming background, my dog was kept in a kennel at night and allowed to wander the backyard free during the day- never in the house (save extremes, ie storms, new years fireworks, hot weather), my partner is from suburbia, dogs have always been allowed in the house. In my opinion, the girls have each other during the day, and we see them quite a bit at night. We usually take them out on weekends to play with other dogs at the dog park etc etc. So, what do I do?

     
  48. Carpet Cleaning

    January 7, 2013 at 4:33 am

    I truly love your website.. Pleasant colors & theme. Did you develop this site yourself? Please reply back as I’m looking to create my own personal site and want to find out where you got this from or exactly what the theme is called. Many thanks!

     
  49. Don

    April 19, 2013 at 11:03 am

    So while I am at work all day, my dog would rather be locked in the house than being allowed to roam our five acres with our sheep (who follow her everywhere). She loves the sheep and the sheep love her. Why would she rather be inside alone all day? Worse… why would she rather be locked in a crate all day?

    I am not an expert on dogs by any means, but when I watch my dog’s behavior and her love for being outside with the farm animals, it just doesn’t seem to fit your blanket statement that it is time to put an end to the outside dog… regardless of circumstances.

    Am I missing something?

    EDITOR’S NOTE: Right you are! Wow, what a paradise for a dog. I wish my dog could run around with sheep on a farm all day. And you’re right, that is a MUCH better existence than being locked in a house or crate all day. I was referring to the urban and suburban situations where dogs are left in yards — or worse, CHAINED in yards — all day/night, with very limited human contact. Thanks for bringing up this important distinction.

     
  50. atchafalayabasin

    May 23, 2013 at 7:48 pm

    I have 2 beagles that live outside. They love it. Not sure if they would if one was by himself. I think some dog people have become so pansy it makes me sick. Dogs stink. They are animals. They belong outside. My dogs are hunters and family pets. They are at home in field trials, and being dressed up like dolls by my daughter.

     
    • Moria Bolduc

      May 27, 2013 at 5:56 pm

      Dogs do not stink if they are washed every two weeks they are domesticated they Deserve the same respect as people

      Sent from my iPhone

       

Leave a Reply

 
